The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,693,353 members ⚫ 1,195,028 ebooks

New to

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Customs & Traditions

  • Honour and Violenceby Nafisa Shah

    Berghahn Books 2016; US$ 29.95

    The practice of karo kari allows family, especially fathers, brothers and sons, to take the lives of their daughters, sisters and mothers if they are accused of adultery. This volume examines the central position of karo kari in the social, political and juridical structures in Upper Sindh, Pakistan. Drawing connections between local contests... more...

  • Make Your Own Christmas Jumperby Nicolette Lafonseca-Hargreaves

    Quercus 2016; US$ 18.99

    Christmas just wouldn't be the same without a kitsch novelty knit - now you can make your own with these, fast, easy, no-knit ideas for one-of-a-kind Christmas jumpers. Once the sort of embarrassing gift you'd only get from your granny, these days seasonal patterned knitwear has gone well and truly mainstream. Whether it's for charity,... more...

  • The Christmas Guestby Daisy Bell

    Quercus 2016; US$ 10.99

    A puppy for Christmas. A friend for life. The heartwarming tale of a homeless puppy with a huge heart who healed a family . . . When Teddy runs away from home a week before Christmas, he's far too excited to worry about what lies ahead. But all too soon Teddy realises just how cold and scary the world really is, and what was supposed to be the... more...

  • Christmas at Little Beach Street Bakeryby Jenny Colgan

    Little, Brown Book Group 2016; US$ 15.99

    Welcome back to Mount Polbearne! The new book from Top Ten bestseller Jenny Colgan is full of festive joy, warmth and the best hot chocolate you can imagine... It's Christmas in the Cornish coastal village of Mount Polbearne - a time for family, friends and feasting. Polly Waterford loves running the Little Beach Street Bakery. She's at her happiest... more...

  • Historical Dictionary of the Peoples of the Southeast Asian Massifby Jean Michaud; Margaret Byrne Swain; Meenaxi Barkataki-Ruscheweyh

    Rowman & Littlefield Publishers 2016; US$ 139.99

    This second edition of Historical Dictionary of the Peoples of the Southeast Asian Massif contains a chronology, an introduction, and a bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on 300 groups, the countries they live in, their historical figures, and their political, economic, social, cultural and religious aspects.... more...

  • Religion in Secular Societyby Bryan R. Wilson; Steve Bruce

    OUP Oxford 2016; US$ 26.99 US$ 23.21

    A reissue Religion in Secular Society (1966) by Bryan Wilson (1926-2004), a Fellow of All Souls College, Oxford for thirty years and one of the leading sociologists of religion of the twentieth century. more...

  • Mistletoe on 34th Streetby Lisa Dickenson

    Little, Brown Book Group 2016; US$ 9.99

    'A perfect Christmas treat' Miranda Dickinson A sparklingly festive and romantic story set in New York at Christmastime, Mistletoe on 34th Street is readers' favourite Lisa Dickenson at her side-splitting, funniest best! Perfect for fans of Giovanna Fletcher and Claudia Carroll. Olivia has never experienced a snow-covered, 'traditional'... more...

  • Understanding Japanesenessby Kosuke Nishitani; Mike Sherrill

    Hamilton Books 2016; US$ 34.99

    This book makes a distinctly new contribution to the field of Nipponjinron as a theological anthropology of Japaneseness. Through concrete examples, classic literature, historical analysis, and religious reflection, the author illuminates a new path to understanding Japaneseness by drawing the reader?s attention to the lifeblood of Japanese behavior,... more...

  • Doing Business with Chinaby Lan Li; Cathal McSwiney Brugha; Stephen Massey

    Oak Tree Press 2016; US$ 12.99

    DOING BUSINESS WITH CHINA: THE IRISH ADVANTAGE AND CHALLENGE emphasises Ireland?s favourable conditions for developing business links with China. Located in the European Union, Ireland is the only English-speaking country in the Eurozone, with a well-educated workforce and a low corporate tax rate of 12.5%. It is also a militarily neutral country.... more...

  • The Art of Communityby Charles Vogl

    Berrett-Koehler Publishers 2016; US$ 18.95

    Bring People Together! Strong communities help people support one another, share their passions, and achieve big goals. And such communities aren't just happy accidents?they can be purposefully cultivated, whether they're in a company, in a faith institution, or among friends and enthusiasts. Drawing on 3,000 years of history and his personal experience,... more...