The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,794,961 members ⚫ 1,236,034 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Customs & Traditions

  • Mr. Burns and Other Playsby Anne Washburn

    Theatre Communications Group 2017; US$ 19.99

    A downright brilliant? ( New York Times ) comedy by one of American theatre?s most original new voices. more...

  • The Religious Lives of Older Laywomenby Abby Day

    OUP Oxford 2017; US$ 39.99

    A study of the generation of mainstream Christian laywomen born in the 1920s and 1930s ('Generation A'). more...

  • Uprising of the Foolsby Vikash Singh

    Stanford University Press 2017; US$ 27.95 US$ 25.50

    At first glance a pilgrimage that requires people to walk hundreds of miles, carrying containers of sacred water, looks like a display of religious fundamentalism. But when Vikash Singh walked with the pilgrims of the Kanwar procession in India, he found something entirely different: religion was not a reaction against modernity, but a practical strategy... more...

  • Popobawaby Katrina Daly Thompson

    Indiana University Press 2017; US$ 29.99

    Since the 1960s, people on the islands off the coast of Tanzania have talked about being attacked by a mysterious creature called Popobawa, a shapeshifter often described as having an enormous penis. Popobawa?s recurring attacks have become a popular subject for stories, conversation, gossip, and humor that has spread far beyond East Africa. Katrina... more...

  • Redefining Japanesenessby Jane H. Yamashiro

    Rutgers University Press 2017; US$ 27.95

    Redefining Japaneseness in Japan chronicles how Japanese American migrants to Japan experience both racial inclusion and cultural dislocation while negotiating between the categories of Japanese and ?foreigner.? Drawing from extensive observations and interviews with Japanese Americans who are geographically, culturally, and linguistically diverse,... more...

  • Letters to a Young Muslimby Omar Saif Ghobash

    Pan Macmillan 2017; US$ 18.64

    In a series of personal letters to his sons, Omar Saif Ghobash offers a short and highly readable manifesto that tackles our current global crisis with the training of an experienced diplomat and the personal responsibility of a father. Today's young Muslims will be tomorrow's leaders, and yet too many are vulnerable to extremist propaganda that seems... more...

  • Rituels et traditions du mondeby José Labrosse

    Primento Digital Publishing 2017; US$ 5.99

    Dans ce nouveau recueil, José Labrosse explore des traditions locales découvertes au gré de voyages sur les continents européen, asiatique et américain. Ces traditions vivaces résistent aux attraits de la modernité et à l?uniformisation culturelle favorisée par la mondialisation. Vous retrouverez au fil de ces pages les photographies rapportées... more...

  • Inuit Kinship and Naming Customsby Pelagie Owlijoot; Louise Flaherty

    Inhabit Media 2016; US$ 9.99

    Traditionally, Inuit do not call each other by their given names. Instead, they refer to each other using a system of kinship and family terms, known as tuq&urausiit (turk-thlo-raw-seet). Calling each other by kinship terms is a way to show respect and foster closeness within families. However, as more and more Inuit refer to each other by their... more...

  • Interpreting Masonic Ritualby III Oscar Patterson

    Hamilton Books 2016; US$ 26.99

    This book endeavors to addresses the depth of the ritualistic experience through a discussion of what ritual means to man as well as what man means to ritual. The author examines ritual through the lens of Freemasonry and his personal experiences. more...

  • A Cornish Christmas Carolby Liz Fenwick

    Orion 2016; US$ 0.99

    A Cornish Christmas Carol is a festive delight to enjoy with a hot cup of mulled wine, perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan and Karen Swan. Joy to the world? Not if Abigail Scorrier has anything to do with it. She's spent most of her adult life trying to avoid the festive frenzy. She loved Christmas as a child in Cornwall: the colourful stockings... more...