The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,578,973 members ⚫ 1,187,673 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Death & Dying

Most popular at the top

  • When Breath Becomes Airby Paul Kalanithi; Abraham Verghese

    Random House Publishing Group 2016; US$ 9.99

    #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ?  For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing... more...

  • Being Mortalby Atul Gawande

    Henry Holt and Co. 2014; US$ 26.99

    In Being Mortal , bestselling author Atul Gawande tackles the hardest challenge of his profession: how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending Medicine has triumphed in modern times, transforming birth, injury, and infectious disease from harrowing to manageable. But in the inevitable condition of aging and death,... more...

  • Evidence of the Afterlifeby Jeffrey Long; Paul Perry

    HarperCollins 2010; US$ 1.99

    ?There is currently more scientific evidence to the reality of near death experience (NDE) than there is for how to effectively treat certain forms of cancer,? states radiation oncologist Dr. Jeffrey Long is his groundbreaking new book Evidence of the Afterlife . In 1998 Dr. Long and his wife, Jody, began the Near Death Experience Research Foundation... more...

  • Children's Understanding of Deathby Victoria Talwar; Paul L. Harris; Michael Schleifer

    Cambridge University Press 2011; US$ 32.00 US$ 26.24

    This book comprehensively examines children's ideas about death, both biological and religious. more...

  • Rough Likenessby Lia Purpura

    Sarabande Books 2011; US$ 15.95

    Lyric essays that examine the smallest things imaginable--beach glass, the color "gunmetal," a mushroom--as well as states of being . more...

  • Being Brettby Douglas Hobbie

    Henry Holt and Co. 1996; US$ 8.99

    Being Brett is a memoir that chronicles the author's daughter's harrowing struggle with Hodgkin's disease. more...

  • The Hour of Our Deathby Philippe Aries

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2013; US$ 24.00

    This remarkable book?the fruit of almost two decades of study?traces in compelling fashion the changes in Western attitudes toward death and dying from the earliest Christian times to the present day. A truly landmark study, The Hour of Our Death reveals a pattern of gradually developing evolutionary stages in our perceptions of life in relation... more...

  • Qualifizierungskurs Palliative Care für Seelsorgendeby Thomas Hagen; Traugott Roser; Hermann Reigber; Bernadette Fittkau-Tönnesmann; Gian Domenico Borasio; Monika Führer

    Kohlhammer Verlag 2010; US$ 8.64

    Das Curriculum für den Qualifizierungskurs "Palliative Care für Seelsorgende", erwachsen aus der Praxis eines ökumenisch geleiteten Kurses und geprägt durch einen spezifischen, überkonfessionellen Zugang zum Begriff Spiritualität, bietet eine Übersicht über Lernziele und inhaltliche Schwerpunkte des Kurses. Themen sind u. a. Grundlagen von... more...

  • Kinderhospizarbeitby Sven Jennessen; Astrid Bungenstock; Eileen Schwarzenberg

    Kohlhammer Verlag 2011; US$ 27.66

    Seit 1990 hat sich die Kinderhospizarbeit zu einem wichtigen Pfeiler im Unterstützungssystem für lebensverkürzend erkrankte Kinder/Jugendliche und ihre Familien entwickelt. Nach englischem Vorbild bietet die deutsche Kinderhospizarbeit heute vielfältige Angebote der Begleitung, Beratung und Hilfe. Sie setzt sich zusammen aus stationären Kinderhospizen,... more...

  • Sterben lassenby Ralf J. Jox

    edition Körber-Stiftung 2014; Not Available

    Es gibt Fragen, die sich niemand gern stellt: Wann dürfen wir Sterben zulassen? Wie wahrt man die Würde des Menschen bis zum Schluss? Doch wir müssen Antworten darauf finden - als Individuen und als Gesellschaft. Zwei Drittel aller Menschen in den reichen Ländern sterben nicht mehr unerwartet, sondern absehbar, unter ärztlicher Begleitung. Ralf J.... more...