The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,508,729 members ⚫ 2,065,349 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Death & Dying

Most popular at the top

  • When Breath Becomes Airby Paul Kalanithi; Abraham Verghese

    Random House Publishing Group 2016; US$ 9.99

    #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ? For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade?s worth... more...

  • Being Mortalby Atul Gawande

    Henry Holt and Co. 2014; US$ 26.99

    In Being Mortal , bestselling author Atul Gawande tackles the hardest challenge of his profession: how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending Medicine has triumphed in modern times, transforming birth, injury, and infectious disease from harrowing to manageable. But in the inevitable condition of aging and death,... more...

  • Being Brettby Douglas Hobbie

    Henry Holt and Co. 1996; US$ 8.99

    Being Brett is a memoir that chronicles the author's daughter's harrowing struggle with Hodgkin's disease. more...

  • The Hour of Our Deathby Philippe Aries

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2013; US$ 24.00

    This remarkable book?the fruit of almost two decades of study?traces in compelling fashion the changes in Western attitudes toward death and dying from the earliest Christian times to the present day. A truly landmark study, The Hour of Our Death reveals a pattern of gradually developing evolutionary stages in our perceptions of life in relation... more...

  • Qualifizierungskurs Palliative Care für Seelsorgendeby Thomas Hagen; Traugott Roser; Hermann Reigber; Bernadette Fittkau-Tönnesmann; Gian Domenico Borasio; Monika Führer

    Kohlhammer Verlag 2010; US$ 8.64

    Das Curriculum für den Qualifizierungskurs "Palliative Care für Seelsorgende", erwachsen aus der Praxis eines ökumenisch geleiteten Kurses und geprägt durch einen spezifischen, überkonfessionellen Zugang zum Begriff Spiritualität, bietet eine Übersicht über Lernziele und inhaltliche Schwerpunkte des Kurses. Themen sind u. a. Grundlagen von... more...

  • Kinderhospizarbeitby Sven Jennessen; Astrid Bungenstock; Eileen Schwarzenberg

    Kohlhammer Verlag 2011; US$ 27.66

    Seit 1990 hat sich die Kinderhospizarbeit zu einem wichtigen Pfeiler im Unterstützungssystem für lebensverkürzend erkrankte Kinder/Jugendliche und ihre Familien entwickelt. Nach englischem Vorbild bietet die deutsche Kinderhospizarbeit heute vielfältige Angebote der Begleitung, Beratung und Hilfe. Sie setzt sich zusammen aus stationären Kinderhospizen,... more...

  • Sterben lassenby Ralf J. Jox

    edition Körber-Stiftung 2014; Not Available

    Es gibt Fragen, die sich niemand gern stellt: Wann dürfen wir Sterben zulassen? Wie wahrt man die Würde des Menschen bis zum Schluss? Doch wir müssen Antworten darauf finden - als Individuen und als Gesellschaft. Zwei Drittel aller Menschen in den reichen Ländern sterben nicht mehr unerwartet, sondern absehbar, unter ärztlicher Begleitung. Ralf J.... more...

  • Deathby Herbert Fingarette

    Open Court 2015; US$ 23.99

    No one who reads this book will ever again think of his or her own death in the same way. The first part of the book consists of a thought-provoking essay, in which Fingarette examines the metaphors which mislead us: death as parting, death as sleep, immortality as the denial of death, and selflessness as a kind of consolation. He also thinks through... more...

  • Journeying Eastby Victoria Dimidjian

    Parallax Press 2005; US$ 12.99

    Some of the West's foremost spiritual teachers share their thoughts on aging and the end of life process. Comprehensive and original interviews with Ram Dass, Michael Eigen, Norman Fischer, Joan Halifax, Thich Nhat Hanh, Sister Chan Khong, Frank Ostaseski, Rodney Smith, and John Wellwood provide new perspectives and offer comfort and support. This... more...

  • Right to Die and Euthanasiaby Lisa Yount

    Infobase Publishing 2007; US$ 54.00

    The United States, and indeed the Western world, is bitterly divided on the issues of the right to die and euthanasia. Polls reported in 2004 indicated that between four and 10 percent of physicians helped to end a terminally ill patient's life at some time, even though such acts are against the law. Legislators, judges, and ordinary citizens have... more...