The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,603,993 members ⚫ 1,165,375 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Death & Dying

Most popular at the top

  • When Breath Becomes Airby Paul Kalanithi; Abraham Verghese

    Random House Publishing Group 2016; US$ 9.99

    #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ?  For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing... more...

  • The Whale / A Bright New Boiseby Samuel D. Hunter

    Theatre Communications Group 2014; US$ 15.99

    Two plays by one of America?s brightest young playwrights. more...

  • Being Brettby Douglas Hobbie

    Henry Holt and Co. 1996; US$ 8.99

    Being Brett is a memoir that chronicles the author's daughter's harrowing struggle with Hodgkin's disease. more...

  • The Hour of Our Deathby Philippe Aries

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2013; US$ 24.00

    This remarkable book?the fruit of almost two decades of study?traces in compelling fashion the changes in Western attitudes toward death and dying from the earliest Christian times to the present day. A truly landmark study, The Hour of Our Death reveals a pattern of gradually developing evolutionary stages in our perceptions of life in relation... more...

  • Deathby Herbert Fingarette

    Open Court 2015; US$ 23.99

    No one who reads this book will ever again think of his or her own death in the same way. The first part of the book consists of a thought-provoking essay, in which Fingarette examines the metaphors which mislead us: death as parting, death as sleep, immortality as the denial of death, and selflessness as a kind of consolation. He also thinks through... more...

  • Journeying Eastby Victoria Dimidjian

    Parallax Press 2005; US$ 12.99

    Some of the West's foremost spiritual teachers share their thoughts on aging and the end of life process. Comprehensive and original interviews with Ram Dass, Michael Eigen, Norman Fischer, Joan Halifax, Thich Nhat Hanh, Sister Chan Khong, Frank Ostaseski, Rodney Smith, and John Wellwood provide new perspectives and offer comfort and support. This... more...

  • Life Sentencesby Zohreh Bayatrizi

    University of Toronto Press, Scholarly Publishing Division 2008; US$ 46.95

    Zohreh Bayatrizi examines the many concerted attempts from the last 350 years to strip death of its mystery, and to order, manage, and transform it from an individualized and fatalistic event to a social phenomenon that allows intervention. more...

  • Modern Deathby Haider Warraich

    St. Martin's Press 2017; US$ 27.99

    There is no more universal truth in life than death. No matter who you are, it is certain that one day you will die, but the mechanics and understanding of that experience will differ greatly in today?s modern age. Dr. Haider Warraich is a young and brilliant new voice in the conversation about death and dying started by Dr. Sherwin Nuland?s classic... more...

  • Right to Die and Euthanasiaby Lisa Yount

    Infobase Publishing 2007; US$ 54.00

    The United States, and indeed the Western world, is bitterly divided on the issues of the right to die and euthanasia. Polls reported in 2004 indicated that between four and 10 percent of physicians helped to end a terminally ill patient's life at some time, even though such acts are against the law. Legislators, judges, and ordinary citizens have... more...

  • Letters from the Afterlifeby Elsa Barker

    ReadHowYouWant 2008; US$ 9.99

    Does life go on beyond the grave? With the recent surge in popularity of topics focused on life after death, Letters from the Afterlife, originally published in 1914 under another title, takes up this age-old question from a unique perspective - that of a man who has undergone ''the great change'' and has crossed the threshold we call... more...