The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Death & Dying

Most popular at the top

  • The Politics of Being Mortalby Alfred G. Killilea

    The University Press of Kentucky 2015; US$ 35.00

    While much has been written in recent years on death and dying, there has been little treatment of how people cope with death in the absence of religious belief, and virtually no examination of the potential political repercussions of a wider acceptance of mortality in American society. Alfred Killilea's strikingly original book revolves around a... more...

  • The Good Deathby Ann Neumann

    Beacon Press 2016; US$ 26.95

    Following the death of her father, journalist and hospice volunteer Ann Neumann sets out to examine what it means to die well in the United States.   If a good death exists, what does it look like? This question lies at the heart of Neumann?s rigorously researched and intimately told journey along the ultimate borderland of American life: American... more...

  • Recovering from the Loss of a Childby Katherine Fair Donnelly

    Open Road Distribution 2015; US$ 6.99

    An extremely well-written, compassionate guide for the millions of people who come face to face with a death in their own families The pain and shock when a child dies can seem unbearable. But expert-on-grief Katherine Fair Donnelly, who has suffered many personal losses, has gained wisdom and strategies for emotional recovery. By sharing, understanding,... more...

  • When Breath Becomes Airby Paul Kalanithi; Abraham Verghese

    Random House Publishing Group 2016; US$ 25.00 US$ 18.99

    For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?   At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade?s worth of training as a neurosurgeon,... more...

  • The Red Recordby Ida B. Wells

    Open Road Media 2015; US$ 0.99

    A shocking and powerful account of lynching written by activist, journalist, and former slave Ida B. Wells In the postbellum American South, lynching was a frightfully common occurrence, perpetrated so frequently that most Southern politicians and leaders turned a blind eye to the practice. This vicious form of vigilante ?justice? was in truth... more...

  • Recovering from the Loss of a Parentby Katherine Fair Donnelly

    Open Road Distribution 2015; US$ 6.99

    An extremely well-written, compassionate guide for the millions of people who come face to face with a death in their own families Losing a parent is a traumatic blow, and the grief can seem unbearable. But you are not alone, and you can get through this. In this first book dedicated to the experience of adults who have lost a parent, expert-on-grief... more...

  • Legal Executions in Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia and West Virginiaby Daniel Allen Hearn

    McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers 2015; US$ 65.00

    In the century following the Civil War, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia and West Virginia legally executed hundreds of men and women convicted of capital crimes. Based on exhaustive research of court records, newspapers death certificates and even gravestones, this book provides the essential details of each case. Arranged by... more...

  • Death and the Rock Starby Dr Barbara Lebrun; Dr Catherine Strong; Professor Derek B Scott; Professor Stan Hawkins

    Ashgate Publishing Ltd 2015; US$ 109.95

    The untimely deaths of Amy Winehouse (2011) and Whitney Houston (2012), and the ?resurrection? of Tupac Shakur for a performance at the Coachella music festival in April 2012, have focused the media spotlight on the relationship between popular music, fame and death. If the phrase ?sex, drugs and rock?n?roll? ever qualified a lifestyle, it has left... more...

  • Hollywood Death and Scandal Sitesby E. J. Fleming

    McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers 2015; US$ 55.00

    For more than a century, people have been drawn to sites of tragedy involving the rich, beautiful and notorious of Hollywood. Tourists at the center of the movie universe flock to Rudolph Valentino's grave, the house where Marilyn Monroe died, the "O.J. murders" condo, the hotel where John Belushi overdosed, a myriad of haunted mansions.... more...

  • The Way We Die Nowby Seamus O'Mahoney

    Head of Zeus 2016; US$ 14.57

    An Irish physician explores the ways in which society has lost the ability to deal with death. more...