The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Death & Dying

Most popular at the top

  • The Good Deathby Ann Neumann

    Beacon Press 2016; US$ 26.95

    Following the death of her father, journalist and hospice volunteer Ann Neumann sets out to examine what it means to die well in the United States.   If a good death exists, what does it look like? This question lies at the heart of Neumann?s rigorously researched and intimately told journey along the ultimate borderland of American life: American... more...

  • The Red Recordby Ida B. Wells

    Open Road Media 2015; US$ 0.99

    A shocking and powerful account of lynching written by activist, journalist, and former slave Ida B. Wells In the postbellum American South, lynching was a frightfully common occurrence, perpetrated so frequently that most Southern politicians and leaders turned a blind eye to the practice. This vicious form of vigilante ?justice? was in truth... more...

  • When Breath Becomes Airby Paul Kalanithi; Abraham Verghese

    Random House Publishing Group 2016; US$ 26.00

    For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question: What makes a life worth living?   At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade?s worth of training as a neurosurgeon,... more...

  • The Afterlife Experimentsby Gary E. Schwartz; William L. Simon; Deepak Chopra

    Atria Books 2002; US$ 15.00

    An esteemed scientist's personal journey from skepticism to wonder and awe provides astonishing answers to a timeless question: Is there life after death? Are love and life eternal? This exciting account presents provocative evidence that could upset everything that science has ever taught. Daring to risk his worldwide academic reputation, Dr. Gary... more...

  • The Denial of Deathby Ernest Becker

    Free Press 2007; US$ 16.99

    Winner of the Pulitzer prize in 1974 and the culmination of a life's work, The Denial of Death is Ernest Becker's brilliant and impassioned answer to the "why" of human existence. In bold contrast to the predominant Freudian school of thought, Becker tackles the problem of the vital lie -- man's refusal to acknowledge his own mortality. In doing... more...

  • The Truth About Suicideby Donna Holland Barnes; Robert N. Golden; Fred. L. Peterson

    Infobase Publishing 2010; US$ 42.00

    According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, suicide kills more than 32,000 Americans each year, making it the 11th leading cause of death in the country. This work provides A-to-Z coverage of issues relating to suicidal behavior - from root causes and warning signs to related mental illness and suicide prevention. more...

  • The Institutional Context of Population Changeby Fred C. Pampel

    University of Chicago Press 2010; US$ 62.00

    Despite having similar economies and political systems, high-income nations show persistent diversity. In this pioneering work, Fred C. Pampel looks at fertility, suicide, and homicide rates in eighteen high-income nations to show how they are affected by institutional structures. European nations, for example, offer universal public benefits for... more...

  • Living Out Loudby Anna Quindlen

    Random House Publishing Group 2010; US$ 15.00

    "A panopticon of life in this decade, sure to be valuable to future social historians She touches on life, love, home, family, work, men, women, children and issues large and small." CHICAGO TRIBUNE The voice is Anna Quindlen's. But we know the hopes, dreams, fears, and wonder expressed in all her columns, for most of us share them. With her NEW YORK... more...

  • Death, Dying and Bereavementby Cecilia Lai Wan Chan; Amy Yin Man Chow

    Hong Kong University Press, HKU 2006; US$ 40.00

    The intention of this volume is to consolidate and disseminate valuable practical wisdom with professionals in the local and international communities who serve Chinese patients and their family members. more...

  • Making an Exitby Sarah Murray

    St. Martin's Press 2011; US$ 21.99

    Thoughtful, amusing, and provocative, Making an Exit will transform the way you look at life's last passage. Because, as Murray discovers, death is, for many, not an ending but the start of something new. Author and journalist Sarah Murray never gave much thought to what might ultimately happen to her remains--that was, until her father died.... more...