The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Death & Dying

Most popular at the top

  • Final Momentsby Deborah Witt Sherman

    Kaplan Publishing 2009; Not Available

    What was it like the first time a nurse witnessed death? How do nurses cope with death when it becomes almost routine? What lessons can we learn from their experiences? Twenty-five nurses?from hospitals, private practices, and in home health care?tell about their experiences with death. Hear from people new to the field as well as those who have... more...

  • When Breath Becomes Airby Paul Kalanithi; Abraham Verghese

    Random House Publishing Group 2016; US$ 25.00 US$ 18.99

    For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade?s worth of training as a neurosurgeon,... more...

  • The Afterlife Experimentsby Gary E. Schwartz; William L. Simon; Deepak Chopra

    Atria Books 2002; US$ 24.99

    An esteemed scientist's personal journey from skepticism to wonder and awe provides astonishing answers to a timeless question: Is there life after death? Are love and life eternal? This exciting account presents provocative evidence that could upset everything that science has ever taught. Daring to risk his worldwide academic reputation, Dr. Gary... more...

  • The International Handbook of Suicide and Attempted Suicideby Keith Hawton; Kees van Heeringen

    Wiley 2000; US$ 124.95

    Recent research in the area of suicidology has provided significant new insights in the epidemiological,psychopathological,and biological characteristics of suicidal behaviour. The International Handbook of Suicide and Attempted Suicide is the first book to bring together this expertise and translate it into practical guidelines for those responsible... more...

  • The Truth About Suicideby Donna Holland Barnes; Robert N. Golden; Fred. L. Peterson

    Infobase Publishing 2010; US$ 42.00

    According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, suicide kills more than 32,000 Americans each year, making it the 11th leading cause of death in the country. This work provides A-to-Z coverage of issues relating to suicidal behavior - from root causes and warning signs to related mental illness and suicide prevention. more...

  • The Institutional Context of Population Changeby Fred C. Pampel

    University of Chicago Press 2010; US$ 62.00

    Despite having similar economies and political systems, high-income nations show persistent diversity. In this pioneering work, Fred C. Pampel looks at fertility, suicide, and homicide rates in eighteen high-income nations to show how they are affected by institutional structures. European nations, for example, offer universal public benefits for... more...

  • Living Out Loudby Anna Quindlen

    Random House Publishing Group 2010; US$ 16.00

    "A panopticon of life in this decade, sure to be valuable to future social historians She touches on life, love, home, family, work, men, women, children and issues large and small." CHICAGO TRIBUNE The voice is Anna Quindlen's. But we know the hopes, dreams, fears, and wonder expressed in all her columns, for most of us share them. With her NEW YORK... more...

  • Death, Dying and Bereavementby Cecilia Lai Wan Chan; Amy Yin Man Chow

    Hong Kong University Press, HKU 2006; US$ 40.00

    The intention of this volume is to consolidate and disseminate valuable practical wisdom with professionals in the local and international communities who serve Chinese patients and their family members. more...

  • Making an Exitby Sarah Murray

    St. Martin's Press 2011; US$ 21.99

    Thoughtful, amusing, and provocative, Making an Exit will transform the way you look at life's last passage. Because, as Murray discovers, death is, for many, not an ending but the start of something new. Author and journalist Sarah Murray never gave much thought to what might ultimately happen to her remains?that was, until her father died.... more...

  • Dying and Creatingby Rosemary Gordon

    Karnac Books 1999; US$ 41.95

    Dying and creating or, could we put it the other way round, creating and dying? Rosemary Gordon has chosen the first, the challenging title and the one that stimulates the reader to find out how they inter-relate. There are essential links between the facts and the concepts. C. G. Jung devoted much attention to the psychology of death, re-birth... more...