The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, Sony Reader...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Death & Dying

Most popular at the top

  • Remember Meby Lisa Takeuchi Cullen

    HarperCollins 2011; US$ 12.99

    In Remember Me , Time writer Lisa Takeuchi Cullen has created a humorous and poignant chronicle of her travels around the country to discover how Americans are reinventing the rites of dying. What she learned is that people no longer want to take death lying down; instead, they're taking their demise into their own hands and planning the afterparty.... more...

  • Mirrors of Mortality (Routledge Revivals)by Joachim Whaley

    Taylor and Francis 2012; US$ 49.95

    First published in 1981, this reissue examines mankind?s preoccupation with death and mortality by isolating various societies in different periods of time. The authors examine not only the formal rituals associated with the last rite of passage, but also the social attitudes to death and dying which these rituals evidence. more...

  • In the Land of Long Fingernailsby Charles Wilkins

    Greystone Books 2011; US$ 14.00

    Charles Wilkins , then a university student, took a job as a gravedigger in a vast corporate cemetery in the east end of Toronto during the hazy summer of 1969. The bizarre-but-true events of that time-a midsummer gravediggers' strike, the unearthing of a victim of an unsolved murder, and a little illegal bone-shifting-play out among a Barnum-esque... more...

  • The Good Deathby Marilyn Webb

    Random House Publishing Group 2011; US$ 27.00

    The Good Death is the first full-scale examination of one of today's most complex issues: the profound change in the way Americans think about and confront death. Drawing on more than six years of firsthand research and reporting, noted journalist Marilyn Webb builds her account around intimate portraits of the dying themselves. She explains why... more...

  • The Rooms of Heavenby Mary Allen

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2011; US$ 15.95

    "A love story, a memoir, a haunting tale of grief and healing. This book is all that and more." -- Chicago Tribune In the tradition of Susanna Kaysen's Girl, Interrupted and Caroline Knapp's Drinking: A Love Story , Mary Allen tells a riveting love story that explores the uncharted territory between passion and  addiction, grief and madness, this... more...

  • This Will Kill Youby H. P. Newquist; Rich Maloof; MD Peter M. Fitzpatrick; Bill McGuinness; Jim Shinnick

    St. Martin's Press 2009; US$ 15.99

    Have you been attacked by a great white shark? Gone over Niagara Falls in a barrel? Been exposed to anthrax? No, you haven't, or you'd be dead. This Will Kill You  reveals the intriguing facts behind the many ways humans bite the dust in encounters with deadly bugs, hungry predators, natural disasters, and freak occurrences. Thoroughly researched... more...

  • The Sea Their Gravesby David J Stewart

    UPF 2011; US$ 69.95

    Based on a study of more than 2,100 gravestones and monuments in North America and the United Kingdom erected between the seventeenth and late twentieth centuries, David Stewart expands the use of nautical archaeology into terrestrial environments. more...

  • Silence Of The Heartby David Frith

    Mainstream Publishing 2011; US$ 23.24

    Cricket has an alarming suicide rate. Among Test-match players for England and several other countries it is far above the national average for all sports and there have been numerous instances at other levels of the game. For thirty years cricket author David Frith has collected data on this sad subject. SILENCE OF THE HEART: Cricket Suicides is his... more...

  • Ghettosideby Jill Leovy

    Random House Publishing Group 2015; US$ 27.00

    more...

  • Where Are They Buried?by Tod Benoit

    Black Dog & Leventhal Publishers 2014; US$ 14.95

    The perennially best-selling guide to the lives, deaths, and final resting places of our most enduring cultural icons, now revised and completely updated to include 25 entries of the newly dead. Where Are They Buried? has directed legions of fervent fans and multitudes of the morbidly curious to the gravesides, monuments, memorials, and... more...