The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Death & Dying

Most popular at the top

  • Dying and Deathby Asa Kasher

    Editions Rodopi 2007; US$ 64.40

    Death is a topic people are reluctant to ponder. Neither is dying a process that is usually being openly discussed. However, on a variety of occasions, dying and death are on a person’s minds, under some sensitive circumstances, he or she are eager to discuss with a close person, a friend, a professional.The present volume, the second in the Series... more...

  • More Moments in Timeby Beth Perry

    Athabasca University Press 2009; US$ 29.95

    Within most disciplines, there are those who are recognized by their colleagues as being exceptionally competent practitioners. These individuals do their work in such a remarkable way as to become a model for others. This book is based on a study of the beliefs, actions, and interactions of a group of extraordinary oncology nurses?the people their... more...

  • How to Live Dangerouslyby Warwick Cairns

    St. Martin's Press 2009; US$ 17.99

    Afraid of flying? Forty percent of Americans are. Yet you'd have to fly every day for the next 26,000 years to assure yourself of dying in a crash. A leisurely canoe ride is more than 100 times deadlier. Think city streets are unsafe? You're more likely to come to harm in your own home, where every year you stand a 1 in 650 chance of being... more...

  • Constructing Deathby Clive Seale

    Cambridge University Press 1998; US$ 36.00

    An introduction to the sociological study of death, dying and bereavement. more...

  • Remember Meby Lisa Takeuchi Cullen

    HarperCollins 2011; US$ 12.99

    In Remember Me , Time writer Lisa Takeuchi Cullen has created a humorous and poignant chronicle of her travels around the country to discover how Americans are reinventing the rites of dying. What she learned is that people no longer want to take death lying down; instead, they're taking their demise into their own hands and planning the afterparty.... more...

  • Mirrors of Mortality (Routledge Revivals)by Joachim Whaley

    Taylor and Francis 2012; US$ 54.95

    First published in 1981, this reissue examines mankind?s preoccupation with death and mortality by isolating various societies in different periods of time. The authors examine not only the formal rituals associated with the last rite of passage, but also the social attitudes to death and dying which these rituals evidence. The essays establish that... more...

  • In the Land of Long Fingernailsby Charles Wilkins

    Greystone Books 2011; US$ 14.00

    Charles Wilkins , then a university student, took a job as a gravedigger in a vast corporate cemetery in the east end of Toronto during the hazy summer of 1969. The bizarre-but-true events of that time-a midsummer gravediggers' strike, the unearthing of a victim of an unsolved murder, and a little illegal bone-shifting-play out among a Barnum-esque... more...

  • This Will Kill Youby HP Newquist; Rich Maloof; MD Peter M. Fitzpatrick; Bill McGuinness; Jim Shinnick

    St. Martin's Press 2009; US$ 19.99

    Have you been attacked by a great white shark? Gone over Niagara Falls in a barrel? Been exposed to anthrax? No, you haven't, or you'd be dead. This Will Kill You reveals the intriguing facts behind the many ways humans bite the dust in encounters with deadly bugs, hungry predators, natural disasters, and freak occurrences. Thoroughly researched... more...

  • The Good Deathby Marilyn Webb

    Random House Publishing Group 2011; US$ 27.00

    The Good Death is the first full-scale examination of one of today's most complex issues: the profound change in the way Americans think about and confront death. Drawing on more than six years of firsthand research and reporting, noted journalist Marilyn Webb builds her account around intimate portraits of the dying themselves. She explains why... more...

  • The Rooms of Heavenby Mary Allen

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2011; US$ 15.95

    "A love story, a memoir, a haunting tale of grief and healing. This book is all that and more." -- Chicago Tribune In the tradition of Susanna Kaysen's Girl, Interrupted and Caroline Knapp's Drinking: A Love Story , Mary Allen tells a riveting love story that explores the uncharted territory between passion and  addiction, grief and madness, this... more...