The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Death & Dying

  • The Good Deathby Ann Neumann

    Beacon Press 2016; US$ 26.95

    Following the death of her father, journalist and hospice volunteer Ann Neumann sets out to examine what it means to die well in the United States. When Ann Neumann?s father was diagnosed with non-Hodgkin?s lymphoma, she left her job and moved back to her hometown of Lancaster, Pennsylvania. She became his full-time caregiver?cooking, cleaning,... more...

  • Suicide in Twentieth-Century Japanby Francesca Di Marco

    Taylor and Francis 2016; US$ 54.95

    Japan?s suicide phenomenon has fascinated both the media and academics, although many questions and paradoxes embedded in the debate on suicide have remained unaddressed in the existing literature, including the assumption that Japan is a "Suicide Nation". This tendency causes common misconceptions about the suicide phenomenon and its features. Aiming... more...

  • Lessons on the Way to Heavenby Zondervan

    Zondervan 2016; US$ 12.99

    Texas businessman Mike Fechner had it all---money, investments, reputation. He felt good about himself and the Lord. He had sold all he had and focused his attentions on helping urban Dallas and the people of poverty-stricken Africa. And that?s when his troubles began. When he found out he had cancer. more...

  • When Breath Becomes Airby Paul Kalanithi; Abraham Verghese

    Random House Publishing Group 2016; US$ 25.00 US$ 18.99

    #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ? For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade?s worth... more...

  • What Really Happens When You Die?by Andrew McLauchlin

    Arcturus Digital Limited 2016; US$ 6.99

    What happens to us when we die? It's a question that has exercised humanity's finest minds for thousands of years. Most have sought the answer in religion; others have looked to philosophers, to the supernatural, or, more recently, to evidence from 'near death' experience. But never, it seems, to science. Yet that's where the answer appears to lie.... more...

  • Suicide and Agencyby Dr Daniel Münster; Dr Ludek Broz; Professor Dorthe Refslund Christensen; Professor Rane Willerslev

    Ashgate Publishing Ltd 2015; US$ 119.95

    Suicide and Agency offers an original and timely challenge to existing ways of understanding suicide. Through the use of rich and detailed case studies, the authors assembled in this volume explore how interplay of self-harm, suicide, personhood and agency varies markedly across site (Greenland, Siberia, India, Palestine and Mexico) and setting (self-run... more...

  • Legal Executions in Georgiaby Daniel Allen Hearn

    McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers 2015; US$ 95.00

    In the state of Georgia, 1025 men and women are known to have been hanged or electrocuted for capital crimes in the century after the Civil War. Based on more than twenty years of investigative research, this chronological record of these legal executions was pieced together from diverse sources in and outside of the state, with many details never... more...

  • Deathby Herbert Fingarette

    Open Court 2015; US$ 24.00

    No one who reads this book will ever again think of his or her own death in the same way. The first part of the book consists of a thought-provoking essay, in which Fingarette examines the metaphors which mislead us: death as parting, death as sleep, immortality as the denial of death, and selflessness as a kind of consolation. He also thinks through... more...

  • Prisoner Voices from Death Rowby Dr Reena Mary George

    Ashgate Publishing Ltd 2015; US$ 109.95

    Death penalty has produced endless discourses not only in the context of prisons, prisoners and punishment but also in various legal aspects concerning the validity of death penalty, the right to life, and torture. Death penalty is embedded in Indian law, however very little is known about the people who are on death row barring a few media reports... more...

  • Media, Culture and Human Violenceby Jeff Lewis

    Rowman & Littlefield International 2015; US$ 40.99

    This book examines the role of media and culture in shaping contemporary conditions of violence. It argues that the collective pursuit and expression of our economic, sexual, social and political desires has catalyzed significant social transformations in human history. more...