The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, Sony Reader...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Essays

Most popular at the top

  • No Timeby Heather Menzies

    D & M Publishers 2009; US$ 14.00

    Everyone agrees: there aren?t enough hours in the day. But what happened to the promise that technology would provide more leisure time? Instead, everyone is working harder and longer than they did 15 years ago, squeezed and scattered and stressed to the point of burnout. Coping with the dizzying pace of a society drowning in information overload,... more...

  • On the Familiar Essayby G.Douglas Atkins

    Palgrave Macmillan Ltd. 2009; US$ 85.00

    Rooted in close reading of texts, including the essays of E.B. White, this comprehensive assessment of the oft-slighted subform of the literary essay situates the familiar at the heart of the essay as form. more...

  • New Reformationby Paul Goodman

    PM Press 2010; US$ 16.00

    Emphasizing the importance of culture and the arts in society, this reprint of a 1960s classic—the author's last book of social criticism—includes a new introduction that situates the late Paul Goodman in his era and traces the development of his characteristic insights. The probing introduction speaks for a new generation of young scholars as it... more...

  • Are You Serious?by Lee Siegel

    HarperCollins 2011; US$ 19.99

    LeeSiegel, author of Falling Upwards , Not RemotelyControlled , and Against the Machine delivers a provocative critique ofmodern lightness and frivolity, and a timely guide to being serious in an unserious age. In the vein of The Culture of Narcissism , Shop Class as Soulcraft , and How Proust Can Change Your Life ,Siegel offers a revelatory... more...

  • The Burning Libraryby Edmund White

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2010; US$ 17.95

    Along with his groundbreaking essays that redefine politics, language, identity, and friendship in the light of gay experience and desire, this magisterial collection of 25 years of White's nonfiction writings includes dazzling subversive appreciations of cultural icons as diverse as Truman Capote and Cormac McCarthy, Robert Mapplethorpe and the singer... more...

  • Notes from the Edge Timesby Daniel Pinchbeck

    Penguin Group US 2010; US$ 23.95

    In this unsparing tour of the perils and promises of the current era, visionary author Daniel Pinchbeck helps us understand that we don't need to wait for the dawning of the next age to radically change our perspectives. In the years since his pioneering work 2012 , Daniel Pinchbeck has touched a legion of readers hungry for insight and... more...

  • The Aftermath of Feminismby Angela McRobbie

    SAGE Publications 2008; US$ 61.00

    Drawing on a wealth of material from film, television, art and popular culture, Angela McRobbie tackles the so-called 'end' of feminism. more...

  • Dear John, I Love Janeby Candace Walsh; Laura Andre; Lisa Diamond

    Seal Press 2010; US$ 16.95

    The new buzzword in female sexuality is ?sexual fluidity??the idea that for many women, sexual identity can shift over time, often in the direction of same-sex relationships. Examples abound in popular culture, from actress Cynthia Nixon, who left her male partner of 15 years to be with a woman, to writer and comedienne Carol Leifer, who divorced... more...

  • The American Dreamby Harmon Leon

    Nation Books 2008; US$ 15.95

    In the tradition of Hunter S. Thompson and Sacha Baron Cohen, social chameleon Harmon Leon takes us on a journey into the savage heart of the American Dream more...

  • Gender and Migrationby Ingrid Palmary; Erica Burman; Khatidja Chantler; Peace Kiguwa

    Zed Books 2010; US$ 34.95

    Provocative and intellectually challenging, Gender and Migration critically analyses how gender has been taken up in studies of migration and its theories, practices and effects. Each essay uses feminist frameworks to highlight how more traditional tropes of gender eschew the complexities of gender and migration. In tackling this problem, this collection... more...