The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,508,729 members ⚫ 2,065,349 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Essays

Most popular at the top

  • Our Only Worldby Wendell Berry

    Counterpoint 2015; US$ 23.99

    As the United States prepares to leave its long war in Afghanistan, it now must contemplate the necessity of sending troops back to Iraq, recalling General Colin Powell?s advice to President Bush: If you break it, you own it,? as the world?s hot spots threaten to spread over the globe with the ferocity of a war of holy terror and desperation. The... more...

  • Reporting Alwaysby Lillian Ross; David Remnick

    Scribner 2015; US$ 27.00

    From the inimitable veteran New Yorker journalist Lillian Ross?a stunning collection of Ross?s iconic New Yorker pieces. A staff writer for The New Yorker since 1945, Lillian Ross is one of the few journalists who worked for both the magazine?s founding editor, Harold Ross, and its current editor, David Remnick. Ross invented the entertainment... more...

  • Shame and Wonderby David Searcy

    Random House Publishing Group 2016; US$ 26.00

    For fans of John Jeremiah Sullivan, Leslie Jamison, Geoff Dyer, and W. G. Sebald, the twenty-one essays in David Searcy?s debut collection are captivating, daring?and completely unlike anything else you?ve read before. Forging connections between the sublime and the mundane, this is a work of true grace, wisdom, and joy. Expansive in scope but deeply... more...

  • Heresiesby John Gray

    Granta Publications 2015; US$ 13.32

    By the author of the best-selling Straw Dogs, this book is a characteristically trenchant and unflinchingly clear-sighted collection of reflections on our contemporary lot. more...

  • True Crimesby Kathryn Harrison

    Random House Publishing Group 2016; US$ 28.00

    From acclaimed literary talent and New York Times bestselling author Kathryn Harrison comes a collection of provocative and illuminating essays. In True Crimes, conventional ideas of love, loss, forgiveness, and memory are transformed?complicated, upended, and reimagined by one of the foremost memoirists of our time. In essays written over... more...

  • A Doctor's Dictionaryby Iain Bamforth

    Carcanet 2015; US$ 14.57

    In this wide-reaching abecedarium, doctor and poet Iain Bamforth dissects the conflict of values embodied in what we call medicine?never entirely a science and no longer quite the art it used to be. Bamforth brings to bear his experience of medicine from around the world, from the hightech American Hospital of Paris to community health centres of Papua,... more...

  • Risque et vulnérabilitéby Gilles Ferréol

    Primento Digital Publishing 2015; US$ 24.99

    Cet ouvrage, fruit d?une étroite collaboration entre enseignants-chercheurs appartenant à diverses institutions, porte sur la problématique du risque et de la vulnérabilité. Les contributions retenues, présentées pour la plupart lors d?un colloque interdisciplinaire qui s?est tenu à Besançon les 21 et 22 mars 2013, proposent tout d?abord des éléments... more...

  • Polarisation et enjeux des mouvements migratoires entre les deux rives de la Méditerranéeby Gilles Ferréol; Abdel-Halim Berretima

    Primento Digital Publishing 2015; US$ 19.99

    Du 17 au 19 avril 2012, s'est tenu à Béjaïa un colloque internationnal consacré à la polarisation et aux enjeux des mouvements migratoires entre les deux rives de la Méditerranée. Quatorze communications ont été ici retenues et regroupées en deux grandes parties. La première se propose d?apporter des éléments de cadrage et de problématisation. Sont... more...

  • Le décret "Neutralité" en questions : Comment mieux vivre ensemble en milieu scolaire ?by Collectif

    Primento Digital Publishing 2015; US$ 6.99

    Parce que la réalité scolaire actuelle est marquée par la diversité, que la diversité est par essence conflictuelle, et que certains faits et revendications qui y font l?actualité questionnent la neutralité de l?enseignement tel que défini par les décrets du 31 mars 1994 et du 17 décembre 2003, que faire quand survient une contestation d?un enseignement... more...

  • Genres, Langues et Pouvoirsby Marine Totozani; Grâce Ranchon; Sandra Tomc

    Primento Digital Publishing 2015; US$ 18.99

    Pour interroger les systèmes de relations hiérarchisées entre les sexes, M. Wittig et J. Butler démontrent la dimension socialement construite des catégories de genre. L?objectif de ce volume "Genres, Langues et Pouvoirs" est de contribuer à faire le point sur la question en débusquant les dynamiques linguistiques et langagières de genre à l??uvre... more...