The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,597,636 members ⚫ 1,163,417 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Essays

Most popular at the top

  • The Other Seriousby Christy Wampole

    HarperCollins 2015; US$ 11.24

    An original collection of incandescent cultural criticism, both experimental and personal, full of pragmatic advice for how to live a considered, joyful existence in our era of screen living and hipster irony, by a Gen-X Princeton professor and contributor to The New York Times The essays in The Other Serious examine the signature phenomena of... more...

  • City by Cityby Keith Gessen; Stephen Squibb

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2015; US$ 18.99

    A collection of essays?historical and personal?about the present and future of American cities Edited by Keith Gessen and Stephen Squibb, City by City is a collection of essays?historical, personal, and somewhere in between?about the present and future of American cities. It sweeps from Gold Rush, Alaska, to Miami, Florida, encompassing cities... more...

  • Arrow Impossibility Theoremsby Jerry S. Kelly; Karl Shell

    Elsevier Science 2014; US$ 72.95

    Arrow Impossibility Theorems is a 10-chapter text that describes existing impossibility theorems. This book explores a number of formalizations of ethical constraints of the theorems. After an introduction to the framework and notation for Arrow impossibility theorems, this book goes on discussing some concepts and an apparatus of relations among... more...

  • Our Only Worldby Wendell Berry

    Counterpoint 2015; US$ 23.99

    As the United States prepares to leave its long war in Afghanistan, it now must contemplate the necessity of sending troops back to Iraq, recalling General Colin Powell?s advice to President Bush: If you break it, you own it,? as the world?s hot spots threaten to spread over the globe with the ferocity of a war of holy terror and desperation. The... more...

  • Reporting Alwaysby Lillian Ross; David Remnick

    Scribner 2015; US$ 27.00

    From the inimitable veteran New Yorker journalist Lillian Ross?a stunning collection of Ross?s iconic New Yorker pieces. A staff writer for The New Yorker since 1945, Lillian Ross is one of the few journalists who worked for both the magazine?s founding editor, Harold Ross, and its current editor, David Remnick. Ross invented the entertainment... more...

  • Shame and Wonderby David Searcy

    Random House Publishing Group 2016; US$ 26.00

    For fans of John Jeremiah Sullivan, Leslie Jamison, Geoff Dyer, and W. G. Sebald, the twenty-one essays in David Searcy?s debut collection are captivating, daring?and completely unlike anything else you?ve read before. Forging connections between the sublime and the mundane, this is a work of true grace, wisdom, and joy. Expansive in scope but deeply... more...

  • Heresiesby John Gray

    Granta Publications 2015; US$ 13.32

    By the author of the best-selling Straw Dogs, this book is a characteristically trenchant and unflinchingly clear-sighted collection of reflections on our contemporary lot. more...

  • True Crimesby Kathryn Harrison

    Random House Publishing Group 2016; US$ 28.00

    From acclaimed literary talent and New York Times bestselling author Kathryn Harrison comes a collection of provocative and illuminating essays. In True Crimes, conventional ideas of love, loss, forgiveness, and memory are transformed?complicated, upended, and reimagined by one of the foremost memoirists of our time. In essays written over... more...

  • A Doctor's Dictionaryby Iain Bamforth

    Carcanet 2015; US$ 14.57

    In this wide-reaching abecedarium, doctor and poet Iain Bamforth dissects the conflict of values embodied in what we call medicine?never entirely a science and no longer quite the art it used to be. Bamforth brings to bear his experience of medicine from around the world, from the hightech American Hospital of Paris to community health centres of Papua,... more...

  • Sauver l'école ?by John Rizzo; Bruno Wesel

    Primento Digital Publishing 2015; US$ 11.99

    Avenir à reconsidérer pour le système éducatif en Wallonie et à Bruxelles ? Depuis plusieurs années, les classements internationaux placent l?enseignement en Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles en piètre posture malgré l?argent investi et une somme de bonnes volontés. La faute à qui?? Aux politiques?? Aux profs?? À l?administration?? Aux parents?? Aux... more...