The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,508,729 members ⚫ 2,065,349 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Essays

Most popular at the top

  • Moving Beyond Wordsby Gloria Steinem

    Open Road Media 2012; US$ 14.99

    Steinem?s career-spanning collection of essays?each one a book in itself?re-imagine everything from the masculinization of wealth to Freudian thought and aging With cool humor and rich intellect, Gloria Steinem strips bare our social constructions of gender and race, explaining just how limiting these invented cultural identities can be.  ... more...

  • Red Emma Speaksby Alix Kates Shulman

    Open Road Media 2012; US$ 9.99

    A comprehensive collection of writings and lectures by one of twentieth-century America?s most important political activists, with two essays by editor Alix Kates Shulman, a leader of feminism?s second wave Emma Goldman?s fiery speeches and essays made her a household name in the early 1900s. Collected here are the most significant of her writings,... more...

  • The New Negroby Alain Locke

    Touchstone 2014; US$ 18.00

    From the man known as the father of the Harlem Renaissance comes a powerful, provocative, and affecting anthology of writers who shaped the Harlem Renaissance movement and who help us to consider the evolution of the African American in society. With stunning works by seminal black voices such as Zora Neale Hurston, Countee Cullen, and W.E.B. DuBois,... more...

  • The Other Seriousby Christy Wampole

    HarperCollins 2015; US$ 14.99

    An original collection of incandescent cultural criticism, both experimental and personal, full of pragmatic advice for how to live a considered, joyful existence in our era of screen living and hipster irony, by a Gen-X Princeton professor and contributor to The New York Times The essays in The Other Serious examine the signature phenomena of... more...

  • The Encyclopedia of Trouble and Spaciousnessby Rebecca Solnit

    Trinity University Press 2014; US$ 17.99

    The incomparable Rebecca Solnit, author of more than a dozen acclaimed, prizewinning books of nonfiction, brings the same dazzling writing to the essays in Encyclopedia of Trouble and Spaciousness . As the title suggests, the territory of Solnit?s concerns is vast, and in her signature alchemical style she combines commentary on history, justice,... more...

  • City by Cityby Keith Gessen; Stephen Squibb

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2015; US$ 18.99

    A collection of essays?historical and personal?about the present and future of American cities Edited by Keith Gessen and Stephen Squibb, City by City is a collection of essays?historical, personal, and somewhere in between?about the present and future of American cities. It sweeps from Gold Rush, Alaska, to Miami, Florida, encompassing cities... more...

  • Arrow Impossibility Theoremsby Jerry S. Kelly; Karl Shell

    Elsevier Science 2014; US$ 72.95

    Arrow Impossibility Theorems is a 10-chapter text that describes existing impossibility theorems. This book explores a number of formalizations of ethical constraints of the theorems. After an introduction to the framework and notation for Arrow impossibility theorems, this book goes on discussing some concepts and an apparatus of relations among... more...

  • Our Only Worldby Wendell Berry

    Counterpoint 2015; US$ 23.99

    As the United States prepares to leave its long war in Afghanistan, it now must contemplate the necessity of sending troops back to Iraq, recalling General Colin Powell?s advice to President Bush: If you break it, you own it,? as the world?s hot spots threaten to spread over the globe with the ferocity of a war of holy terror and desperation. The... more...

  • Reporting Alwaysby Lillian Ross; David Remnick

    Scribner 2015; US$ 27.00

    From the inimitable veteran New Yorker journalist Lillian Ross?a stunning collection of Ross?s iconic New Yorker pieces. A staff writer for The New Yorker since 1945, Lillian Ross is one of the few journalists who worked for both the magazine?s founding editor, Harold Ross, and its current editor, David Remnick. Ross invented the entertainment... more...

  • Shame and Wonderby David Searcy

    Random House Publishing Group 2016; US$ 26.00

    For fans of John Jeremiah Sullivan, Leslie Jamison, Geoff Dyer, and W. G. Sebald, the twenty-one essays in David Searcy?s debut collection are captivating, daring?and completely unlike anything else you?ve read before. Forging connections between the sublime and the mundane, this is a work of true grace, wisdom, and joy. Expansive in scope but deeply... more...