The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Essays

  • Black Boxby The Black Box Collective

    PM Press 2016; US$ 9.99

    The work of eminent writers?Richard Dyer, Silvia Federici, Ursula K. Le Guin?as well as a host of new thinkers illustrate continuity and rupture in ongoing theoretical and cultural critique   This volume contains an eclectic but accessible collection of reportage, interviews, letters, fragments, and theoretical responses from some of the brightest... more...

  • Cross-National Comparative Survey Researchby Alexander Szalai; Riccardo Petrella; Stein Rokkan

    Elsevier Science 2016; US$ 93.95

    Cross-National Comparative Survey Research: Theory and Practice contains the proceedings of the Roundtable Conference on Cross-National Comparative Survey Research held in Budapest, Hungary, on July 25-29, 1972. The papers focus on the theory and practice of cross-national comparative survey research. The organization and execution of cross-national... more...

  • Qui a peur des chats noirs ?by Marie-Agnès Moller

    Primento Digital Publishing 2016; US$ 11.99

    Les origines des superstitions les plus répandues Elles font partie intégrante de notre quotidien, marquant de leur empreinte mystique certains gestes finalement très banals. Même les esprits les plus cartésiens peuvent contourner une échelle, toucher du bois ou chercher un trèfle à quatre feuilles ! La question est : pourquoi ? Lorsque l?on cherche... more...

  • Le Franc-Maçon au XXIe siècleby Pierre Klees

    Primento Digital Publishing 2016; US$ 11.99

    Essai sur l?engagement d?un franc-maçon d?aujourd?hui Ni insolite ni mystérieuse, la franc-maçonnerie ouvre une voie salutaire qui s?oppose à la pieuvre des fanatismes religieux. Le franc-maçon répond à une aspiration au progrès dans la recherche d?une spiritualité débarrassée de dogmes et en répondant par ses actions aux défis du XXIe siècle.... more...

  • Les Ornements de la femmeby Octave Uzanne; Ligaran

    Primento Digital Publishing 2016; US$ 2.99

    Extrait : "Où trouver la meilleure paraphrase du mot Eventail ? Messieurs de l'Académie le définissent par petit meuble qui sert à éventer, Richelet et Furetière optent pour instrument qui fait du vent et ne donnent à ce terme aucun sexe approprié, soutenant que les meilleurs auteurs peuvent écrire sans faillir : un bel éventail ou une jolie éventail.... more...

  • Secrets du foyer domestiqueby Sophie Ulliac-Trémadeure; Ligaran

    Primento Digital Publishing 2016; US$ 2.99

    Extrait : "Par une belle matinée du mois de mai, pendant que les cloches de Sainte-Marie sonnaient joyeusement à grande volée, plusieurs voitures aux chevaux parés de bouquets et de rubans blancs ainsi que les cochers et les laquais, roulaient avec rapidité vers l'un des faubourgs de la ville de***. Toutes vinrent l'une après l'autre s'arrêter devant... more...

  • Shame and Wonderby David Searcy

    Random House Publishing Group 2016; US$ 26.00 US$ 19.50

    For fans of John Jeremiah Sullivan, Leslie Jamison, Geoff Dyer, and W. G. Sebald, the twenty-one essays in David Searcy?s debut collection are captivating, daring?and completely unlike anything else you?ve read before. Forging connections between the sublime and the mundane, this is a work of true grace, wisdom, and joy. Expansive in scope but deeply... more...

  • The Boy Who Could Change the Worldby Aaron Swartz; Lawrence Lessig

    The New Press 2016; US$ 24.95

    In his too-short life, Aaron Swartz reshaped the Internet, questioned our assumptions about intellectual property, and touched all of us in ways that we may not even realize. His tragic suicide in 2013 at the age of twenty-six after being aggressively prosecuted for copyright infringement shocked the nation and the world. Here for the first time... more...

  • Le viol, une arme de terreurby Collectif; Denis Mukwege; Pierre Kroll

    Primento Publishing 2015; US$ 12.99

    Regards/éclairages croisés (du romancier au médecin en passant par le journaliste ou le juriste) sur un phénomène récent et inquiétant, en Afrique centrale en particulier Depuis vingt ans, une violence inouïe frappe cette région. Si toute guerre fait des ravages parmi les populations civiles, les femmes paient ici le plus lourd tribut. Une situation... more...

  • Nos Filles et nos Filsby Ernest Legouvé; Ligaran

    Primento Digital Publishing 2015; US$ 2.99

    Extrait : "Que Marguerite fût la plus mignonne petite fille du monde, c'est ce que sa mère, Mme Dubreuil, pense sans le dire, et ce que tous ses amis disent en le pensant. Pourtant Marguerite a un grand défaut : elle ne veut pas absolument parler anglais. En vain a-t-on fait venir pour elle une bonne de Londres, en vain sa mère lui parle-t-elle anglais... more...