The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,964,430 members ⚫ 1,303,930 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Ethnic Studies

Most popular at the top

  • Travels in West Africaby Mary Kingsley

    The Floating Press 2009; US$ 4.99 US$ 4.34

    Supported by a family inheritance that gave her £500 a year, Mary Henrietta Kingsley traveled to Africa to complete the book her father had started. The subject was the culture of Africa and Kingsley stayed with local people while she learned to survive in the African jungles, studied cannibal tribes, discovered new species of fish, and climbed... more...

  • The Hold Life Hasby Catherine J. Allen

    Smithsonian 2012; US$ 21.95

    This second edition of Catherine J. Allen's distinctive ethnography of the Quechua-speaking people of the Andes brings their story into the present. She has added an extensive afterword based on her visits to Sonqo in 1995 and 2000 and has updated and revised parts of the original text. The book focuses on the very real problem of cultural continuity... more...

  • An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United Statesby Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz

    Beacon Press 2014; US$ 27.95

    2015 Recipient of the American Book Award The first history of the United States told from the perspective of indigenous peoples   Today in the United States, there are more than five hundred federally recognized Indigenous nations comprising nearly three million people, descendants of the fifteen million Native people who once inhabited this land.... more...

  • Coming Apartby Charles Murray

    The Crown Publishing Group 2012; US$ 17.00

    Coming Apart - an acclaimed bestseller that explains why white America has become fractured and divided in education and class. In Coming Apart , Charles Murray explores the formation of American classes that are different in kind from anything we have ever known, focusing on whites as a way of driving home the fact that the trends he describes... more...

  • Being Ethnographicby Raymond Madden

    SAGE Publications 2010; US$ 48.00

    This book provides theoretical, practical and critical lessons which allow researchers of all levels of experience to successfully engage with their ethnographic research more...

  • Taco USAby Gustavo Arellano

    Scribner 2012; US$ 17.00

    Nationally syndicated columnist and bestselling author of ¡Ask a Mexican! Gustavo Arellano presents an entertaining, tasty trip through the history and culture of Mexican food in this country, uncovering great stories and charting the cuisine’s tremendous popularity in el Norte. In the tradition of Bill Buford’s Heat and Calvin Trillin’s The Tummy... more...

  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacksby Rebecca Skloot

    Crown/Archetype 2010; US$ 16.00

    Now an HBO® Film starring Oprah Winfrey and Rose Byrne #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor black tobacco farmer whose cells—taken without her knowledge in 1951—became one of the most important tools in medicine, vital for developing the polio vaccine, cloning, gene mapping,... more...

  • Other People's Childrenby Lisa Delpit

    The New Press 2006; US$ 17.99

    Winner of an American Educational Studies Association Critics’ Choice Award and Choice Magazine’ s Outstanding Academic book award, and voted one of Teacher Magazine’s great books,” Other People’s Children has sold over 150,000 copies since its original hardcover publication. This anniversary paperback edition features a new introduction by Delpit... more...

  • The Struggle for Black Equalityby Harvard Sitkoff; John Hope Franklin

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2008; US$ 11.20

    The Struggle for Black Equality is a dramatic, memorable history of the civil rights movement. Harvard Sitkoff offers both a brilliant interpretation of the personalities and dynamics of civil rights organizations and a compelling analysis of the continuing problems plaguing many African Americans. With a new foreword and afterword, and an up-to-date... more...

  • The Color of Crime (Second Edition)by Katheryn Russell-Brown

    NYU Press 2008; US$ 26.00

    When The Color of Crime was first published ten years ago, it was heralded as a path-breaking book on race and crime. Now, in its tenth anniversary year, Katheryn Russell-Brown’s book is more relevant than ever. The Jena Six, Duke Lacrosse Team, Amadou Diallo, Sean Bell, James Byrd, and all of those victimized in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina... more...