The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,687,217 members ⚫ 1,190,073 ebooks

New to

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • Race to Incarcerateby Marc Mauer; Sabrina Jones; Michelle Alexander

    The New Press 2013; US$ 17.99

    "Do not underestimate the power of the book you are holding in your hands." Michelle Alexander More than 2 million people are now imprisoned in the United States, producing the highest rate of incarceration in the world. How did this happen? As the director of The Sentencing Project, Marc Mauer has long been one of the country?s foremost experts... more...

  • Just Mercyby Bryan Stevenson

    Random House Publishing Group 2014; US$ 16.00

    #1  New York Times Bestseller | Named one of the Best Books of the Year by The New York Times ? The Washington Post ? The Boston Globe ? The Seattle Times ? Esquire ? Time   Winner of the Carnegie Medal for Nonfiction | Winner of the NAACP Image Award for Nonfiction | Winner of a Books for a Better Life Award | Finalist for the Los Angeles... more...

  • The New Jim Crowby Michelle Alexander; Cornel West

    The New Press 2012; US$ 19.99

    Once in a great while a book comes along that changes the way we see the world and helps to fuel a nationwide social movement. The New Jim Crow is such a book. Praised by Harvard Law professor Lani Guinier as "brave and bold," this book directly challenges the notion that the election of Barack Obama signals a new era of colorblindness. With dazzling... more...

  • Introduction to Correctionsby Robert D. Hanser

    SAGE Publications 2016; US$ 88.00 US$ 74.80

    The Second Edition of Introduction to Corrections  provides students with a strong, comprehensive foundation in the field of corrections using modern research, theoretical origins, and practical application . Designed for introductory corrections courses,  this text uniquely illustrates how the day-to-day practitioner conducts business in... more...

  • The Damage Doneby W Fellows

    Mainstream Publishing 2011; US$ 11.27

    Think about the most wretched day of your life. Maybe it was when someone you loved died, or when you were badly hurt in an accident, or a day when you were so terrified you could scarcely bear it. No imagine 4,000 of those days in one big chunk. In 1978, Warren Fellows was convicted in Thailand of heroin trafficking and was sentenced to life... more...

  • Debating the Death Penaltyby Hugo Adam Bedau; Paul G. Cassell

    Oxford University Press 2005; US$ 9.99 US$ 8.59

    This volume brings together seven experts--judges, lawyers, prosecutors, and philosophers--to debate the death penalty in a spirit of open inquiry and civil discussion. Here, as the contributors present their reasons for or against capital punishment, the multiple facets of the issue are revealed in clear and thought-provoking detail. Is the death... more...

  • The Innocent Manby John Grisham

    Random House Publishing Group 2010; US$ 9.99

    #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ? In the vein of Serial and Making a Murderer, John Grisham?s first work of nonfiction will terrify anyone who believes in the presumption of innocence. Impeccably researched, grippingly told, filled with eleventh-hour drama, it?s a book no American can afford to miss.   In the town of Ada, Oklahoma, Ron Williamson... more...

  • Class, Race, Gender, and Crimeby Gregg Barak; Paul Leighton; Allison Cotton

    Rowman & Littlefield Publishers 2014; US$ 49.99

    The fourth edition of the powerful textbook Class, Race, Gender, and Crime introduces students to crime and the criminal justice system through the lens of class, race, gender, and their intersection. Maintaining the overall structure of the third edition, the fourth edition incorporates new examples, current data, and recent theoretical developments... more...

  • When Prisoners Come Homeby Joan Petersilia

    Oxford University Press 2009; US$ 15.99 US$ 13.75

    Drawing on dozens of interviews with inmates, former prisoners, and prison officials, Joan Petersilia convincingly shows us how the current system is failing to help the enornmous numbers of jailed Americans reenter society. Unwilling merely to sound the alarm, Petersilia explores the harsh realities of prisoner reentry and offers specific solutions... more...

  • Disposable Youthby Ed.D. James C. Wilson

    SBPRA 2014; US$ 2.99

    Disposable Youth has the power to change America. Seventy percent of the 2.4 million prisoners in America today are high school dropouts. Half of all African American and Hispanic urban high school students drop out. Forty percent of all urban high school students drop out. This continuum of dropping out of high school and into crime and then prison... more...