The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Social Issues

Most popular at the top

  • Cleanby David Sheff

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2013; US$ 14.95

    The author of the No. 1 New York Times bestseller  Beautiful Boy  offers a new paradigm for dealing with addiction based on cutting-edge research and stories of his own and other families' struggles with ? and triumphs over ? drug abuse. more...

  • Columbineby Jeff Kass

    Conundrum Press 2014; US$ 9.99

    The result of 15 years of research and exclusive information, this is the first book of investigative journalism to tell the complete story of Littleton, Colorado?s 1999 mass shooting, its far-reaching consequences, and common characteristics among public shooters across the country. A classic in the tradition of In Cold Blood and The Executioner's... more...

  • Megaprojects and Riskby Bent Flyvbjerg; Nils Bruzelius; Werner Rothengatter

    Cambridge University Press 2003; US$ 28.00

    A fascinating account of the problems and possible solutions involved in managing megaprojects. more...

  • Braving the Streetby Irene Glasser; Rae Bridgman

    Berghahn Books 1999; US$ 24.95

    As homelessness continues to plague North America and also becomes more widespread in Europe, anthropologists turn their attention to solving the puzzle of why people in some of the most advanced technological societies in the world are found huddled in a subway tunnel, squatting in a vacant building, living in a shelter, or camping out in an abandoned... more...

  • Informalizationby Cas Wouters

    SAGE Publications 2007; US$ 62.00

    "This book shows that manners, far from being superficial adornments of behaviour, are thoroughly interwoven with our personalities and the structures of our societies. The concept of ?informalization? provides both an invaluable addition to Norbert Elias?s theory of civilizing processes and a most useful tool for understanding how changes in manners... more...

  • Half the Skyby Nicholas D. Kristof; Sheryl Wudunn

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2009; US$ 15.95

    #1 National Bestseller From two of our most fiercely moral voices, a passionate call to arms against our era?s most pervasive human rights violation: the oppression of women and girls in the developing world. With Pulitzer Prize winners Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn as our guides, we undertake an odyssey through Africa and Asia to meet... more...

  • Making Volunteers: Civic Life after Welfare's Endby Nina Eliasoph

    Princeton University Press 2011; US$ 26.95

    Volunteering improves inner character, builds community, cures poverty, and prevents crime. We've all heard this kind of empowerment talk from nonprofit and government-sponsored civic programs. But what do these programs really accomplish? In Making Volunteers , Nina Eliasoph offers an in-depth, humorous, wrenching, and at times uplifting look inside... more...

  • In My Skinby Kate Holden

    The Text Publishing Company 2005; US$ 24.99

    An Australian memoir published to critical acclaim worldwide, In My Skin is the true story of Kate Holden's life as a prostitute and a heroin addict. Kate was a nice middle-class girl: a dreamy bookworm, a classics scholar and an innocent. In this memoir she chronicles in frank and beautifully crafted prose her descent into drug addiction and then... more...

  • The Cocaine Kidsby Terry Tempest Williams

    Da Capo Press 1990; US$ 16.50

    "Since 1982, sociologist Terry Williams has spent days, weeks, and months “hanging out? with a teenage cocaine ring in cocaine bars, after-hours clubs, on street corners, in crack houses and in their h" more...

  • They Poured Fire on Us From the Skyby Benjamin Ajak; Benson Deng; Alephonsian Deng; Judy Bernstein

    PublicAffairs 2006; US$ 15.99

    They were all under the age of seven when they were driven from a war-ravaged country. In this deceptively understated memoir, three boys recall in their own words their harrowing journey to safety. more...