The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Social Issues

Most popular at the top

  • Columbineby Jeff Kass

    Conundrum Press 2014; US$ 9.99

    The result of 15 years of research and exclusive information, this is the first book of investigative journalism to tell the complete story of Littleton, Colorado?s 1999 mass shooting, its far-reaching consequences, and common characteristics among public shooters across the country. A classic in the tradition of In Cold Blood and The Executioner's... more...

  • Braving the Streetby Irene Glasser; Rae Bridgman

    Berghahn Books 1999; US$ 24.95

    As homelessness continues to plague North America and also becomes more widespread in Europe, anthropologists turn their attention to solving the puzzle of why people in some of the most advanced technological societies in the world are found huddled in a subway tunnel, squatting in a vacant building, living in a shelter, or camping out in an abandoned... more...

  • Death Gripby Matt Samet

    St. Martin's Press 2013; US$ 16.99

    Death Grip chronicles a top climber's near-fatal struggle with anxiety and depression, and his nightmarish journey through the dangerous world of prescription drugs. Matt Samet lived to climb, and craved the challenge, risk, and exhilaration of conquering sheer rock faces around the United States and internationally. But Samet's depression, compounded... more...

  • Informalizationby Cas Wouters

    SAGE Publications 2007; US$ 62.00

    "This book shows that manners, far from being superficial adornments of behaviour, are thoroughly interwoven with our personalities and the structures of our societies. The concept of ?informalization? provides both an invaluable addition to Norbert Elias?s theory of civilizing processes and a most useful tool for understanding how changes in manners... more...

  • Making Volunteers: Civic Life after Welfare's Endby Nina Eliasoph

    Princeton University Press 2011; US$ 26.95

    Volunteering improves inner character, builds community, cures poverty, and prevents crime. We've all heard this kind of empowerment talk from nonprofit and government-sponsored civic programs. But what do these programs really accomplish? In Making Volunteers , Nina Eliasoph offers an in-depth, humorous, wrenching, and at times uplifting look inside... more...

  • The Cocaine Kidsby Terry Tempest Williams

    Da Capo Press 1990; US$ 16.50

    "Since 1982, sociologist Terry Williams has spent days, weeks, and months “hanging out? with a teenage cocaine ring in cocaine bars, after-hours clubs, on street corners, in crack houses and in their h" more...

  • They Poured Fire on Us From the Skyby Benjamin Ajak; Benson Deng; Alephonsian Deng; Judy Bernstein

    PublicAffairs 2006; US$ 15.99

    They were all under the age of seven when they were driven from a war-ravaged country. In this deceptively understated memoir, three boys recall in their own words their harrowing journey to safety. more...

  • Gendering Addictionby Nancy Campbell; Elizabeth Ettorre

    Palgrave Macmillan 2011; US$ 100.00

    This study, by two leading scholars in the field, draws on feminist theory and science and technology studies to uncover a basic injustice for the human rights of drug-using women: most women who need drug treatment in the US and UK do not get it. Why not? more...

  • In My Skinby Kate Holden

    The Text Publishing Company 2005; US$ 24.99

    An Australian memoir published to critical acclaim worldwide, In My Skin is the true story of Kate Holden's life as a prostitute and a heroin addict. Kate was a nice middle-class girl: a dreamy bookworm, a classics scholar and an innocent. In this memoir she chronicles in frank and beautifully crafted prose her descent into drug addiction and then... more...

  • Finding Meby Michelle Knight; Michelle Burford

    Weinstein Publishing 2014; US$ 15.00

    Michelle Knight, the first of the three women abducted by notorious Cleveland kidnapper Ariel Castro, recounts the full story of her years in captivity, her escape, and the powerful inner strength and capacity for hope that has helped her rebuild her life. more...