The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Emergency Services

  • 3000 Degreesby Sean Flynn

    Grand Central Publishing 2008; US$ 9.99

    The unforgettable and heartbreaking true story of the firemen who bravely fought "the perfect fire" is now in paperback. more...

  • 7-7by Crispin Black

    Gibson Square 2010; US$ 5.82

    How could a moment of triumph about the Olympic Bid turn into a catastrophe? These terrible events follow on the continuing revelations that the intelligence reports that were the government's basis for the invasion of Iraq were deeply flawed and the recent admission by the Ministry of Defence that it failed to foresee the size and ferocity of the... more...

  • Above the Lawby Skolnick Fyfe

    Free Press 2010; Not Available

    The now-famous videotape of the beating of Rodney King precipitated a national outcry against police violence. Skolnick and Fyfe, two of the nation's top experts on law enforcement, use the incident to introduce a revealing historical analysis of such violence and the extent of its survival in law enforcement today. more...

  • Above the Lawby Skolnick Fyfe

    Free Press 2010; Not Available

    The now-famous videotape of the beating of Rodney King precipitated a national outcry against police violence. Skolnick and Fyfe, two of the nation's top experts on law enforcement, use the incident to introduce a revealing historical analysis of such violence and the extent of its survival in law enforcement today. more...

  • The Accidental Systemby Michael D Reagan

    Westview Press 1999; US$ 25.99

    An insightful policy study that shows that in the American political context, health care is neither exclusively a public right nor a private privilege. more...

  • Active Shooter Events and Responseby John P. Blair; Terry Nichols; David Burns; John R. Curnutt

    Taylor and Francis 2013; US$ 69.95

    The Columbine tragedy on April 20, 1999 began a new era in law enforcement as it became apparent that the police response to such mass shootings must be drastically altered. By the time the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting occurred on December 14, 2012, outdated police response strategies had been replaced with new, aggressive tactics used by... more...

  • African Police and Soldiers in Colonial Zimbabwe, 1923-80by Timothy Stapleton

    Boydell & Brewer 2011; US$ 90.00

    A look at the ambiguous experience of black security force personnel in white minority ruled colonial Southern Rhodesia (now Zimbabwe). more...

  • Against Securityby Harvey Molotch

    Princeton University Press 2014; US$ 19.95

    The inspections we put up with at airport gates and the endless warnings we get at train stations, on buses, and all the rest are the way we encounter the vast apparatus of U.S. security. Like the wars fought in its name, these measures are supposed to make us safer in a post?9/11 world. But do they? Against Security explains how these regimes of... more...

  • All Fired Upby Malcolm Castle

    Orion 2012; US$ 17.49

    A unique and gloriously nostalgic account of one eventful year in the fire service for readers who loved books such as CALL THE MIDWIFE and TRUST ME, I'M A VET. more...

  • All Fired Upby Malcolm Castle

    Orion 2012; Not Available

    A unique and gloriously nostalgic account of one eventful year in the fire service for readers who loved books such as CALL THE MIDWIFE and TRUST ME, I'M A VET. more...