The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Mountaineering & Climbing

Most popular at the top

  • The Mammoth Book Of Everestby Jon E. Lewis

    Little, Brown Book Group 2015; US$ 14.86

    This selection of the very best writing on Everest begins with the first attempts and continues, via Mallory's failed bid and Hillary and Tenzing's triumph, to the disasters of recent years. It features 35 white-knuckle accounts of climbing on the world's highest mountain, with all the tragedy and triumph of humankind's striving for the top of the... more...

  • Master of Thin Airby Andrew Lock; Peter Hillary

    Arcade Publishing 2015; US$ 25.99

    Named one of the Five Adventure Books You Need to Read This Summer? by Backpacker Magazine For readers of Into Thin Air , riveting high-altitude drama and the passion and drive that inspire outsized mountaineering achievements. Master of Thin Air opens with a fall that the author very nearly could not stop down an almost vertical rock ramp... more...

  • Scotland's Mountains Before the Mountaineersby Ian R Mitchell

    Luath Press Ltd 2013; US$ 11.65

    Winner of the Outdoor Writers GUld Award for Excellence In this new book on pre-mountaineering ascents and near ascents in the Highlands, we have at last a work which does justice to those who lived and worked, travelled and fought in the Highlands before Walter Scott. PROF. BRUCE LENMAN Marvelous account of mountaineering's prehistory...... more...

  • Last Hours on Everest: The gripping story of Mallory and Irvine?s fatal ascentby Graham Hoyland

    HarperCollins Publishers 2013; US$ 10.76

    An expert mountaineer cracks Everest?s most intriguing mystery - did Mallory and Irvine reach the summit before they perished on its slopes? more...

  • The Ghosts of K2by Mick Conefrey

    Oneworld Publications 2015; US$ 26.99

    At 28,251 ft, K2 might be almost 800 ft shorter than Everest, but it is a far tougher proposition. Unlike Everest, there is no Yak-route? for commercial clients. It is hard climbing all the way from its base to its summit. K2 will kill you on the way up and kill you on the way down. Mick Conefrey tells the story of three extraordinary expeditions... more...

  • Hiking Idahoby Luke Kratz; Jackie Maughan; Ralph Maughan

    Falcon Guides 2014; US$ 23.99

    Lace up your boots and sample more than 100 trails in Idaho's vast undeveloped backcountry and wilderness areas. Discover pink granite peaks of the Sawtooth Range, "big tree" country in the Selkirk Mountain rain forest, and Hells Canyon - the deepest gorge in North America. Idaho offers hikers some of the most magnificent and rugged mountain scenery... more...

  • Climbing Colorado's Mountainsby Susan Joy Paul

    Falcon Guides 2015; US$ 23.99

    Climbing Colorado?s Mountains will cover approximately 100 peaks in Colorado across a range of abilities, including 12ers, 13ers, and 14ers. This guide includes detailed hike and climb descriptions, miles and maps, and color photos with ascent and descent routes for the most popular peaks in the state. Climbing descriptions also include history,... more...

  • The Lost Explorerby Conrad Anker; David Roberts

    Simon & Schuster 1999; US$ 12.00

    This is the adventure story of the year -- how Conrad Anker found the body of George Mallory on Mount Everest, casting an entirely new light on the mystery of the explorer who may have conquered Everest seventy-five years ago. On June 8, 1924, George Leigh Mallory and Andrew "Sandy" Irvine were last seen climbing toward the summit of Mount Everest.... more...

  • Over the Edgeby Greg Child

    Random House Publishing Group 2002; Not Available

    “The climbers swept up in the events of August 2000 are people little different from the rest of us. Though their climbing skills taught them a thing or two about survival, it was their individual characters and their compassion for one another that kept them alive. more...

  • Left for Deadby Beck Weathers; Stephen G. Michaud

    Random House Publishing Group 2000; US$ 16.00

    With a new preface by the author ? As featured in the upcoming motion picture Everest, starring Jason Clarke, Josh Brolin, John Hawkes, Robin Wright, Emily Watson, Keira Knightley, Sam Worthington, and Jake Gyllenhaal   ?I can tell you that some force within me rejected death at the last moment and then guided me, blind and stumbling?quite... more...