The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, Sony Reader...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Essays & Travelogues

  • Another Great Day at Seaby Geoff Dyer

    The Text Publishing Company 2014; US$ 24.99

    As a child Geoff Dyer spent long hours making and blotchily painting model fighter planes. So the adult Dyer jumped at the chance of a residency aboard an aircraft carrier. Another Great Day at Sea chronicles Dyer's experiences on the USS George H.W. Bush as he navigates the routines and protocols of 'carrier-world', from the elaborate choreography... more...

  • Under the Southern Sunby Paul E. Paolicelli

    St. Martin's Press 2014; US$ 8.99

    Recently there has been a seemingly endless stream of books praising the glories of ancient and modern Rome, fretting over Venice?s rising tides and moldering galleries, celebrating the Tuscan countryside, wines and cuisine. But there have been curiously few writings that deal directly with Italy as the country of origin for the grand and great-grandparents... more...

  • Gaysiaby Benjamin Law; Aaron Allbright

    Cleis Press 2014; US$ 16.95

    Benjamin Law considers himself pretty lucky to live in Australia: he can hold his boyfriend's hand in public and lobby his politicians to recognize same-sex marriage. But as the child of immigrants, he's also curious about how different life might have been had he grown up in Asia. So he sets off to meet his fellow Gaysians. Law takes his investigative... more...

  • Sidewalksby Valeria Luiselli; Christina MacSweeney; Cees Nooteboom

    Coffee House Press 2014; US$ 12.99

    Cosmopolitan, vivacious essays in the tradition of Brodsky's Watermark and Benjamin's The Arcades Project by a celebrated young Mexican author. more...

  • Honeymoon in Purdahby Alison Wearing

    Picador 2014; US$ 19.99

    The beautifully written travel memoir of a Western woman's journey in Iran In the tradition of Nothing to Declare , Honeymoon in Purdah is a book of sketches gathered over the course of one woman's journey in Iran. Through her, we meet the ordinary and extraordinary people of Iran--men and women whose lives extend beyond Western news stories... more...

  • Home Sweet Anywhereby Lynne Martin

    Sourcebooks 2014; US$ 14.99

    "This terrific book gives hope to everyone who desires the fun and freedom of dropping everything and hitting the road to foreign ports."?Jeri Sedlar, co-author of Don't Retire, REWIRE! The Sell-Your-House, See-the-World Life! Reunited after thirty-five years and wrestling a serious case of wanderlust, Lynne and Tim Martin decided to sell... more...

  • A Philosophy of Walkingby Frederic Gros; John Howe

    Verso Books 2014; US$ 24.95

    "It is only ideas gained from walking that have any worth."?Nietzsche In A Philosophy of Walking, a bestseller in France, leading thinker Frédéric Gros charts the many different ways we get from A to B ? the pilgrimage, the promenade, the protest march, the nature ramble ? and reveals what they say about us. Gros draws attention to other thinkers... more...

  • Travels and Adventuresby Pero Tafur; Malcolm Letts

    Taylor and Francis 2014; US$ 230.00

    'A document of unique interest it is a picture of Europe at a most critical moment of its history, when the Continent was overwhelmed by misery, disease and unrest. A cool observer, without prejudice or excitement Tafur noted the symptoms of decay.' Sunday Times. This edition, translated and edited by Malcolm Letts, was the first complete translation... more...

  • Travels in Tartary, Thibet and China, Volume Oneby Gabet; Huc; Paul Pelliot

    Taylor and Francis 2014; US$ 230.00

    First published in 1928. 'To read it is like seeing the scenes described' Evening Standard 'One of the world's best travel books' Spectator 'The work remains a classic worthy of reproduction' The Times Published to critical acclaim and well known for many years afterwards this account of the journey across Mongolia to Lhasa in the early nineteenth... more...

  • Travels in Tartary Thibet and China, Volume Twoby Gabet; Huc; Paul Pelliot

    Taylor and Francis 2014; US$ 230.00

    'To read it is like seeing the scenes described' Evening Standard 'One of the world's best travel books' Spectator 'The work remains a classic worthy of reproduction' The Times Published to critical acclaim and well known for many years afterwards this account of the journey across Mongolia to Lhasa in the early nineteenth century owes much of... more...