The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
19th Century

Most popular at the top

  • In the Heart of the Seaby Nathaniel Philbrick

    Penguin Publishing Group 2001; US$ 17.00

    The riveting and critically acclaimed bestseller, soon to be a major motion picture directed by Ron Howard Chris Hemsworth, Cillian Murphy, Ben Whishaw, and Brendan Gleeson will star in a new film based on this National Book Award?winning account of the true events behind Moby Dick . In 1820, the whaleship Essex was rammed and sunk by an angry... more...

  • Astoriaby Peter Stark

    HarperCollins 2014; US$ 12.99

    In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara , Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to... more...

  • On Gold Mountainby Lisa See

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2014; US$ 15.95

    "Astonishing....A comprehensive and exhaustively researched account of a Chinese-American family...that juggles such explosive elements as race, class, tradition, prejudice, poverty, and great wealth in new and relatively unexpected combinations."--The Los Angeles Times more...

  • Destiny of the Republicby Candice Millard

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2011; US$ 16.95

    A New York Times Notable Book of 2011 Winner of the 2012 PEN award for Research Nonfiction "A staggering tale....Millard digs deeply into the turmoil that got James A. Garfield elected, the lunacy that got him shot and the medical malfeasance that turned a minor wound into a mortal one."--Janet Maslin, Top 10 Recommendations for 2011 ?One of the... more...

  • The Big Oysterby Mark Kurlansky

    Random House Publishing Group 2007; US$ 16.00

    Before New York City was the Big Apple, it could have been called the Big Oyster. Now award-winning author Mark Kurlansky tells the remarkable story of New York by following the trajectory of one of its most fascinating inhabitants?the oyster, whose influence on the great metropolis remains unparalleled. For centuries New York was famous for its oysters,... more...

  • The Homestead Strikeby Paul Kahan

    Taylor and Francis 2014; US$ 33.95

    On July 6, 1892, three hundred armed Pinkerton agents arrived in Homestead, Pennsylvania to retake the Carnegie Steelworks from the company's striking workers. As the agents tried to leave their boats, shots rang out and a violent skirmish began. The confrontation at Homestead was a turning point in the history of American unionism, beginning a rapid... more...

  • To Keep the Waters Troubledby Linda O. McMurry

    Oxford University Press 2000; US$ 29.95

    In the generation that followed Frederick Douglass, no African American was more prominent, or more outspoken, than Ida B. Wells. Her crusade against lynching in the 1890s made her famous, or notorious, across America, and she was seriously considered as a rival to W.E.B. Du Bois and Booker T. Washington for race leadership. This book is the first full... more...

  • Closer to Freedomby Stephanie M. H. Camp

    The University of North Carolina Press 2004; US$ 22.99

    Closer to Freedom: Enslaved Women and Everyday Resistance in the Plantation South more...

  • Thieves' Roadby Terry Mort

    Prometheus Books 2015; US$ 11.99

    In the summer of 1874, Brevet Major General George Armstrong Custer led an expedition of some 1000 troops and more than one hundred wagons into the Black Hills of South Dakota.  This fascinating work of narrative history tells the little-known story of this exploratory mission and reveals how it set the stage for the climactic Battle of the Little... more...

  • The Age of Acquiescenceby Steve Fraser

    Little, Brown and Company 2015; US$ 31.22

    A groundbreaking investigation of how and why, from the 18th century to the present day, American resistance to our ruling elites has vanished. From the American Revolution through the Civil Rights movement, Americans have long mobilized against political, social, and economic privilege. Hierarchies based on inheritance, wealth, and political preferment... more...