The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
19th Century

Most popular at the top

  • The Murder of Jim Fisk for the Love of Josie Mansfieldby H.W. Brands

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2011; US$ 15.00

    Even before he was shot dead on the stairway of the tony Grand Central Hotel in 1872, financier James ?Jubilee Jim? Fisk, Jr., was a notorious New York City figure. From his audacious attempt to corner the gold market in 1869 to his battle for control of the geographically crucial Erie Railroad, Fisk was a flamboyant exemplar of a new financial era... more...

  • Crazy Horse, Third Editionby Mari Sandoz; Vine Deloria Jr.

    UNP - Bison Books 2013; US$ 15.95

    ?Here is a glorious hero tale told with beauty and power . . . the story of a great American.??John G. Neihardt, New York Times more...

  • The Devil in the White Cityby Erik Larson

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2004; US$ 15.95

    1) In the note ?Evils Imminent,? Erik Larson writes ?Beneath the gore and smoke and loam, this book is about the evanescence of life, and why some men choose to fill their brief allotment of time engaging the impossible, others in the manufacture of sorrow? [xi]. What does the book reveal about ?the ineluctable conflict between good and evil?? What... more...

  • Astoriaby Peter Stark

    HarperCollins 2014; US$ 12.99

    In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara , Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to... more...

  • Great Lakes Creolesby Lucy Eldersveld Murphy

    Cambridge University Press 2014; US$ 26.00

    Great Lakes Creoles examines the ways in which old fur trade families experienced and responded to the colonialism of United States expansion. more...

  • Mary Lincolnby Stacy Pratt McDermott

    Taylor and Francis 2015; US$ 34.95

    One of America?s most compelling First Ladies, Mary Lincoln possessed a unique vantage point on the events of her time, even as her experiences of the constraints of gender roles and the upheaval of the Civil War reflected those of many other women. The story of her life presents a microcosm through which we can understand the complex and dramatic... more...

  • Trans-Appalachian Frontier, Third Editionby Malcolm J. Rohrbough

    Indiana University Press 2008; US$ 23.75

    The first American frontier lay just beyond the Appalachian Mountains and along the Gulf Coast. Here, successive groups of pioneers built new societies and developed new institutions to cope with life in the wilderness. In this thorough revision of his classic account, Malcolm J. Rohrbough tells the... more...

  • The Murder of Helen Jewettby Patricia Cline Cohen

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2010; US$ 17.95

    In 1836, the murder of a young prostitute made headlines in New York City and around the country, inaugurating a sex-and-death sensationalism in news reporting that haunts us today. Patricia Cline Cohen goes behind these first lurid accounts to reconstruct the story of the mysterious victim, Helen Jewett. From her beginnings as a servant girl in... more...

  • Black Elk Speaksby John G. Neihardt; Philip J. Deloria; Vine Deloria

    UNP - Bison Books 2014; US$ 19.95

    ?If any great religious classic has emerged in [the twentieth] century or on this continent, it must certainly be judged in the company of Black Elk Speaks .??from Vine Deloria Jr.?s foreword ]]> more...

  • Young Americaby Edward L. Widmer

    Oxford University Press 1998; US$ 49.99

    This fascinating study examines the meteoric career of a vigorous intellectual movement rising out of the Age of Jackson. As Americans argued over their destiny in the decades preceding the Civil War, an outspoken new generation of "ultra-democratic" writers entered the fray, staking out positions on politics, literature, art, and any other territory... more...