The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,757,227 members ⚫ 1,221,934 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
19th Century

Most popular at the top

  • Astoriaby Peter Stark

    HarperCollins 2014; US$ 10.49

    In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeletons in the Zahara , Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to... more...

  • John Adamsby David McCullough

    Simon & Schuster 2001; US$ 20.00

    The Pulitzer Prize?winning, bestselling biography of America?s founding father and second president that was the basis for the acclaimed HBO series, brilliantly told by master historian David McCullough. In this powerful, epic biography, David McCullough unfolds the adventurous life journey of John Adams, the brilliant, fiercely independent, often... more...

  • The Devil in the White Cityby Erik Larson

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2004; US$ 16.95

    Erik Larson?author of #1 bestseller IN THE GARDEN OF BEASTS?intertwines the true tale of the 1893 World's Fair and the cunning serial killer who used the fair to lure his victims to their death. Combining meticulous research with nail-biting storytelling, Erik Larson has crafted a narrative with all the wonder of newly discovered history and the thrills... more...

  • The Inventor and the Tycoonby Edward Ball

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2013; US$ 16.95

    From the National Book Award-winning author of Slaves in the Family , a riveting true life/true crime narrative of the partnership between the murderer who invented the movies and the robber baron who built the railroads.   One hundred and thirty years ago Eadweard Muybridge invented stop-motion photography, anticipating and making possible motion... more...

  • A Fictive Peopleby Ronald J. Zboray

    Oxford University Press 1993; US$ 149.99

    This book explores an important boundary between history and literature: the antebellum reading public for books written by Americans. Zboray describes how fiction took root in the United States and what literature contributed to the readers' sense of themselves. He traces the rise of fiction as a social history centered on the book trade and chronicles... more...

  • The Oregon Trailby David Dary

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2007; US$ 35.00

    A major one-volume history of the Oregon Trail from its earliest beginnings to the present, by a prize-winning historian of the American West. Starting with an overview of Oregon Country in the early 1800s, a vast area then the object of international rivalry among Spain, Britain, Russia, and the United States, David Dary gives us the whole sweeping... more...

  • Representative Menby Ralph Waldo Emerson; Brenda Wineapple

    Random House Publishing Group 2007; US$ 14.95

    Introduction by Brenda Wineapple In 1845 Ralph Waldo Emerson began a series of lectures and writings in which he limned six figures who embodied the principles and aspirations of a still-young American republic. Emerson offers timeless meditations on the value of individual greatness, reconnecting readers with the everyday virtues of his ?Representative... more...

  • And Even Nowby William Craft

    ReadHowYouWant 2009; US$ 4.99

    Books for All Kinds of Readers. ReadHowYouWant offers the widest selection of on-demand, accessible format editions on the market today. Our 7 different sizes of EasyRead™ are optimized by increasing the font size and spacing between the words and the letters. We partner with leading publishers around the globe. Our goal is to have accessible... more...

  • Before Lewis and Clarkby Shirley Christian

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2005; US$ 6.79

    Shortly after Meriweather Lewis reached St. Louis in 1803 to plan for his voyage to the Pacific with William Clark, he prepared his first packet of flora and fauna from west of the Mississippi and dispatched it to President Jefferson. The cuttings, which were later planted in Philadelphia and Virginia, were supplied by Lewis's new French friend, Pierre... more...

  • The Boys of '98by Dale L. Walker

    Tom Doherty Associates 1999; US$ 6.79

    Spur Award winning author Dale Walker tells the colourful story of Americas most memorable fighting force, the volunteer cavalry known as the Rough Riders. From its members, and their slapdash training in Texas and Florida, to its battles at Las Gusimas and San Juan Hill under the command of Theodore Roosevelt, who kept riding, some say, into the... more...