The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,943,133 members ⚫ 1,297,993 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Civil War Period (1850-1877)

Most popular at the top

  • The Divided Welfare Stateby Jacob S. Hacker

    Cambridge University Press 2002; US$ 32.00

    This book examines the political relationship between government social programs and private social benefits. more...

  • A Concise History of Australiaby Stuart Macintyre

    Cambridge University Press 2015; US$ 38.00

    This fourth edition investigates the key factors - social, economic and political - that continue to shape modern-day Australia. more...

  • Custerby Larry McMurtry

    Simon & Schuster 2012; US$ 20.00

    In this lavishly illustrated volume, Larry McMurtry, the greatest chronicler of the American West, tackles for the first time one of the paramount figures of Western and American history.  On June 25, 1876, General George Armstrong Custer and his 7th Cavalry attacked a large Lakota Cheyenne village on the Little Bighorn River in Montana Territory.... more...

  • Amy Snowby Tracy Rees

    Quercus 2015; US$ 9.99

    THE RICHARD AND JUDY BESTSELLER, perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and Island of Secrets . 'I couldn't put this book down. A real mystery' Amazon reviewer. Abandoned on a bank of snow as a baby, Amy is taken in at nearby Hatville Court. But the masters and servants of the grand estate prove cold and unwelcoming. Amy's only... more...

  • Founding Brothersby Joseph J. Ellis

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2003; US$ 15.95

    In this landmark work of history and winner of the Pulitzer Prize, Joseph J. Ellis explores how a group of greatly gifted but deeply flawed individuals—Hamilton, Burr, Jefferson, Franklin, Washington, Adams, and Madison—confronted the overwhelming challenges before them to set the course for our nation. The United States was more a fragile hope... more...

  • The French Revolution: A Very Short Introductionby William Doyle

    OUP Oxford 2001; US$ 7.99

    Beginning with a discussion of familiar images of the French Revolution, garnered from Dickens, Baroness Orczy, and Tolstoy, Doyle leads the reader to the realization that we are still living with developments of the French Revolution. It destroyed the age-old cultural, institutional and social structures in France and beyond. This book looks at how... more...

  • Hell in the Pacificby Jim McEnery; Bill Sloan

    Simon & Schuster 2012; US$ 17.00

    In what may be the last memoir to be published by a living veteran of the pivotal invasion of Guadalcanal, which occurred almost seventy years ago, Marine Jim McEnery has teamed up with author Bill Sloan to create an unforgettable chronicle of heroism and horror.  McENERY’S RIFLE COMPANY—the legendary K/3/5 of the First Marine Division, made famous... more...

  • Access to History: France in Revolution 1774-1815 Fifth Editionby Dylan Rees; Duncan Townson; Jane Tyler

    Hodder Education 2015; US$ 27.06

    Give your students the best chance of success with this tried and tested series' combination of in-depth analysis, engaging narrative and accessibility. Access to History is the most popular, trusted and wide-ranging series for A Level History students. Each title: - Supports the content and assessment requirements of the 2015 A Level History specifications... more...

  • Access to History: The Unification of Italy 1789-1896 Fourth Editionby Robert Pearce; Andrina Stiles; Jane Tyler

    Hodder Education 2015; US$ 27.06

    Give your students the best chance of success with this tried and tested series, combining in-depth analysis, engaging narrative and accessibility. Access to History is the most popular, trusted and wide-ranging series for A-level History students. This title: - Supports the content and assessment requirements of the 2015 A-level History specifications... more...

  • The American Dreamby Jim Cullen

    Oxford University Press 2003; US$ 13.99

    "The American Dream" is one of the most familiar and resonant phrases in our national lexicon, so familiar that we seldom pause to ask its origin, its history, or what it actually means. In this fascinating short history, Jim Cullen explores the meaning of the American Dream, or rather the several American Dreams that have both reflected and shaped... more...