The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,410,490 members ⚫ 1,532,108 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

A Haunt of Murder (Canterbury Tales Mysteries, Book 6)

A ghostly tale of love and death in medieval England

A Haunt of Murder (Canterbury Tales Mysteries, Book 6) by Paul Doherty
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

A murderer lurks among a group of friends...

Paul Doherty relates the Clerk of Oxford's tale in A Haunt of Murder - a tale of mystery and murder as he goes on pilgrimage from London to Canterbury. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Susanna Gregory.

As the sun sets, Chaucer's pilgrims find themselves lost in a Kent forest rumoured to be haunted. Huddled around the fire, trying to ignore the cries of screech owls and other, more frightening sounds of the night, the Clerk of Oxford agrees to tell a ghostly tale of love and death that will chill the blood.

It's 1381 and Beatrice Arrowner is on her way to Ravenscroft Castle on the outskirts of Maldon. Beatrice is meeting clerk Ralph Mortimer for a feast on the green. Nothing can dampen Beatrice's mood as she and Ralph gather with their friends. But the sinister events of the last few days soon cast a cloud over the festivities. Phoebe, a castle maid, has been horribly murdered. Soon there is another death and it seems that the evil spirits which haunt the Midnight Tower are doing their worst.

Certain there is a connection between these events and his own search for the legendary Brythnoth's jewelled cross, Ralph knows that this own life is in danger and that the murderer must be one of his close friends. But he can only hunt down the killer with the help of Beatrice - who learns that death is not necessarily the end of existence...

What readers are saying about the Canterbury Tales Mysteries:
'An intriguing tale which keeps one entertained up to the last page'
'Spellbinding'
'I found it a brilliant, mystifying tale and was hooked from beginning to end'

Headline; November 2012
166 pages; ISBN 9780755350537
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: A Haunt of Murder (Canterbury Tales Mysteries, Book 6)
Author: Paul Doherty
 
More Fiction
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780747260752
9780755350537

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...

  • A Haunt of Murder (Canterbury Tales Mysteries, Book 6)
    A Haunt of Murder (Canterbury Tales Mysteries, Book 6)Paul DohertyUS$ 2.99
  • Murder Wears a Cowl (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 6)
    Murder Wears a Cowl (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 6)Paul DohertyUS$ 2.99
  • The Relic Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 6)
    The Relic Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 6)Paul DohertyUS$ 2.99
  • A Maze of Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 6)
    A Maze of Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 6)Paul DohertyUS$ 1.99
  • The Poisoner of Ptah (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 6)
    The Poisoner of Ptah (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 6)Paul DohertyUS$ 1.99