The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,410,490 members ⚫ 1,532,108 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

The Widow Waltz

A Novel

The Widow Waltz by Sally Koslow
Buy this eBook
US$ 12.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)
“This heartfelt, witty addition to women’s fiction will appeal to fans of Elizabeth Berg and Anna Quindlen.” (Booklist)
 
Georgia Waltz has things many people only dream of: a plush Manhattan apartment overlooking Central Park, a Hamptons beach house, valuable jewels and art, two bright daughters, and a husband she adores, even after decades of marriage. It’s only when Ben suddenly drops dead from a massive coronary while training for the New York City Marathon that Georgia discovers her husband—a successful lawyer—has left them nearly penniless. Their wonderland was built on lies.
      
As the family attorney scours emptied bank accounts, Georgia must not only look for a way to support her family, she needs to face the revelation that Ben was not the perfect husband he appeared to be, just as her daughters—now ensconced back at home with secrets of their own—have to accept that they may not be returning to their lives in Paris and at Stanford subsidized by the Bank of Mom and Dad. As she uncovers hidden resilience, Georgia’s sudden midlife shift forces her to consider who she is and what she truly values. That Georgia may also find new love in the land of Spanx and stretch marks surprises everyone—most of all, her.
 
Sally Koslow’s fourth novel is deftly told through the alternating viewpoints of her remarkable female protagonists as they plumb for the grit required to reinvent their lives. Inspiring, funny, and deeply satisfying, The Widow Waltz explores in a profound way the bonds between mothers and daughters, belligerent siblings, skittish lovers, and bitter rivals as they discover the power of forgiveness, and healing, all while asking, “What is family, really?”
Penguin Publishing Group; June 2013
352 pages; ISBN 9781101622728
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: The Widow Waltz
Author: Sally Koslow
 
  • News
Weekend picks for book lovers - USA TODAY
Sat, 17 Aug 2013 03:04:04 -0700
USA TODAYWeekend picks for book loversUSA TODAYThe Widow Waltz by Sally Koslow ; Viking, 342 pp.; fiction. When slick, handsome ...
Resisting Christmas in North Dakota - Jewish Daily Forward
Fri, 26 Dec 2014 01:56:15 -0800
Jewish Daily ForwardResisting Christmas in North DakotaJewish Daily ForwardAt the first poinsettia sighting, many of my Jewish ...
More Fiction
ISBNs
9780670025640
9781101622728