The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,410,490 members ⚫ 1,532,108 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

The Canterbury Tales By Night Omnibus

Three gripping medieval mysteries

The Canterbury Tales By Night Omnibus by Paul Doherty
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

The Canterbury Tales by Night Omnibus features the first three novels in Paul Doherty's mystery series charting the progress of Chaucer's pilgrims, and the tales they tell along the way. Includes An Ancient Evil, A Tapestry of Murders and A Tournament of Murders. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Susanna Gregory.

An Ancient Evil:
As the travellers gather at the start of a pilgrimage to Canterbury, they agree to amuse themselves on their journey with evening tales of mystery, terror and murder. So begins the Knight's tale. It opens with the destruction of a sinister cult during the reign of William the Conqueror, and then moves to Oxford some two hundred years later where terrible murders are being committed. The Abbess of the Convent of St Anne's, believes the murders are connected with the legends of the cult and petitions the King for help...

A Tapestry of Murders:
As Chaucer's pilgrims continue towards Canterbury, they choose the Man of Law to narrate the next tale of fear and sinister dealings. In August 1358, the adulterous Dowager Queen Isabella, the 'She Wolf of France', lies dying of the pestilence in the sombre fortress of Castle Rising, where her 'loving' son has kept her incarcerated. But as in life so in death Isabella causes intrigue, violence and murder. Nicholas Chirke, an honest young lawyer, is brought in to investigate strange events following her death - and quickly finds himself at his wits' end trying to resolve the mysteries before a great scandal unfolds.

A Tournament of Murders:
While Chaucer's pilgrims settle for the night, the Franklin narrates a mysterious, bloody tale... In 1356 the Black Prince has won his resounding victory at Poitiers. As impoverished knight Gilbert Savage lies dying in the wake of the fight he tells his squire, Richard Greenele, that the story of his parents perishing during the plague is untrue. Richard, if he wishes to uncover what really happened, must travel to Colchester and seek out a sealed letter telling the truth of his parentage, and a most macabre confession that will set him on a mission for revenge from which there is no turning back...

Headline; November 2012
300 pages; ISBN 9781472202536
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: The Canterbury Tales By Night Omnibus
Author: Paul Doherty
 
More Fiction
Subject categories
ISBNs
9781472202536

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...