The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,011,120 members ⚫ 1,318,789 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

The Zookeeper's Wife

An unforgettable true story, now a major film

The Zookeeper's Wife by Diane Ackerman
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

In war-torn Warsaw, a zookeeper and his wife refuse to surrender...

Now a major motion picture starring Jessica Chastain and Daniel Brühl, Diane Ackerman's The Zookeeper's Wife is based on a remarkable true story of bravery and sanctuary during World War II. Perfect for fans of Lion and Hidden Figures.

'I can't imagine a better story or storyteller. The Zookeeper's Wife will touch every nerve you have' -Jonathan Safran Foer, author of Everything is Illuminated

When Germany invades Poland, Luftwaffe bombers devastate Warsaw and the city's zoo along with it. With most of their animals killed, or stolen away to Berlin, zookeepers Jan and Antonina Zabinski begin smuggling Jews into the empty cages.

As the war escalates Jan becomes increasingly involved in the anti-Nazi resistance. Ammunition is buried in the elephant enclosure and explosives stored in the animal hospital. Plans are prepared for what will become the Warsaw uprising. Through the ever-present fear of discovery, Antonina must keep her unusual household afloat, caring for both its human and animal inhabitants - otters, a badger, hyena pups, lynxes - as Europe crumbles around them.

Written with the narrative drive and emotional punch of a novel, The Zookeeper's Wife is a remarkable true story. It shows us the human and personal impact of war - of life in the Warsaw Ghetto, of fighting in the anti-Nazi resistance. But more than anything it is a story of decency and sacrifice triumphing over terror and oppression.

What readers are saying about The Zookeeper's Wife:

'Beautifully and sensitively written - a must read'

'An adventure that inspires'

'Both horrifying and endearing on a scale I've not experienced in years'

'A story that will haunt you forever'

'Haunting, life affirming, sad, and inspiring'

Headline; May 2013
300 pages; ISBN 9780755365043
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: The Zookeeper's Wife
Author: Diane Ackerman
 
  • News
'The Zookeeper's Wife' Trailer: Jessica Chastain Saves Lives - ScreenCrush
Thu, 17 Nov 2016 16:00:26 -0800
ScreenCrush'The Zookeeper's Wife' Trailer: Jessica Chastain Saves LivesScreenCrushThe Zookeeper's Wife is based ...
See Jessica Chastain in first photos from The Zookeeper's Wife - Entertainment Weekly
Tue, 15 Nov 2016 11:11:20 -0800
See Jessica Chastain in first photos from The Zookeeper's WifeEntertainment WeeklyThe Oscar-nominated actress is featured — ...
Zookeeper's Wife First Look Footage Has Jessica Chastain in a Nazi Zoo - MovieWeb
Wed, 16 Nov 2016 09:35:37 -0800
MovieWebZookeeper's Wife First Look Footage Has Jessica Chastain in a Nazi ZooMovieWebThe screenplay comes from War Bride ...
ISBNs
9780755365036
9780755365043

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...