The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,363,412 members ⚫ 1,467,645 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

It's a Lovely Day Tomorrow

A nostalgic saga set in wartime Blackpool

It's a Lovely Day Tomorrow by Margaret Thornton
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

With the war providing escape, how long will their happiness last?

Set during the advent of the Second World War, Margaret Thornton's It's a Lovely Day Tomorrow follows two sisters as they discover independence for the first time... as well as love. Perfect for fans of Pam Evans and Maureen Lee.

'Warm-hearted, evocative saga of life in Blackpool during World War II' - British Book News

Jenny Carter has always led a sheltered life, protected by those she loves. Leaving school at fourteen, she is faced with no alternative but to help her mother, Annie, run Pleasant View boarding house in Blackpool. To the holidaymakers it is a welcoming retreat, but to Jenny and her younger sister Violet, who struggle to keep up with their mother's intolerable demands, it feels more like the workhouse. Then Jenny meets Tom Bradshaw, an idealistic young Yorkshire lad who not only stands up to Annie's caustic remarks, but whisks Jenny straight off her feet and down the aisle.

Happy though their marriage is and much as she loves their young daughter, Jenny feels she has slipped uncontrollably from dominated daughter into doting wife and mother, and there are times when she yearns for the independence she has been denied. Then Germany invades Poland, and Tom, eager for a slice of the action, joins up to fight in the Second World War.

The ensuing war years provide Jenny and her sister with their first taste of freedom: Violet finds work in an aircraft factory, while Jenny takes in a little evacuee. And before long, both girls have begun to fall in love...

What readers are saying about It's a Lovely Day Tomorrow:

'If you like wartime stories, you will love this. Very down to earth about what went on behind the scenes, and very realistic'

'A good family saga which I love and could read forever'

'Five stars'

Headline; August 2013
ISBN 9781472205155
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: It's a Lovely Day Tomorrow
Author: Margaret Thornton
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9781472205155

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...