The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

The Memory of Lost Senses

An unforgettable novel of buried secrets from the past

The Memory of Lost Senses by Judith Kinghorn
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

1911. A country house. A long, hot summer. A story of love...

From the author of The Snow Globe, comes an absorbing, evocative and rich period drama of buried secrets and lost love in an Edwardian summer. The Memory of Lost Senses is perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore.

'Witty, clever and compelling, with a beautiful love story at its heart' - Jane Harris

When a mysterious countess arrives late in life to live at a large, deserted house on the edge of a sleepy Hampshire village, the local tongues start wagging. No one is more intrigued than Cecily Chadwick, idling away the long, hot summer of 1911 with nothing much to do. Cecily is fascinated by the exotic elderly lady and, as she gets to know her, is riveted by her tales of expatriate life on the continent, and of whom she once knew. But the countess is troubled: by her memories, her name, and by anonymous threats to reveal a ruinous secret...

It is, she has decided, up to her close friend, a successful novelist who has come to stay for the summer, to put the record straight. For aspiring writer Cecily, the novelist's presence only adds to the intrigue and pull of the house. But it is the countess's grandson, Jack, his unanswered questions about his grandmother's past and his desire to know the truth, that draw Cecily further into the tangled web of the countess's life, and the place known as Temple Hill.

What readers are saying about The Memory of Lost Senses:

'Oh, how I loved these characters when the story was lifted from the pages to me, crafted in Judith's clear narrative voice'

'A story of love, passion and memories - often unreliable - beautifully told with an effortless languorous feel as the history and drama unfolds'

'A well-structured novel that has been so beautifully written it is well worthy of five stars'

Headline; February 2013
ISBN 9780755386048
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: The Memory of Lost Senses
Author: Judith Kinghorn
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755386048

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...