The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,353,660 members ⚫ 1,442,818 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

The Long Journey Home

An utterly compelling saga of friendship during war

The Long Journey Home by Wendy Robertson
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

In Singapore, a family are tested by the onset of the Second World War...

The Long Journey Home is an unforgettable saga from Wendy Robertson of friendship, love and sacrifice during the Second World War. Perfect for fans of Harry Bowling and Dilly Court.

'A spellbinding story - you'll find it hard to put down' - Sunderland Echo

For ten-year-old Sylvie Sambuck, Singapore seems a long way from the fighting of the Second World War. However the advancing Japanese army soon leads to a mass evacuation of the island but, as Sylvie's family begins to board their ship, there is no sign of Sylvie. Somehow, in the confusion, Sylvie finds refuge with her governess, Virginia Chen. But neither Virginia nor her family believe they will escape the Japanese internment camps, where Virginia may have to pay the ultimate price for Sylvie's survival.

What readers are saying about The Long Journey Home:

'A superbly written book'

'This is the first book I've read in ages that made me want to go to bed early so I could read it in peace, and go to sleep late as I didn't want to put it down'

'Five stars'

Headline; August 2012
ISBN 9780755393695
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: The Long Journey Home
Author: Wendy Robertson
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755393695

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...