The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,363,412 members ⚫ 1,467,645 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

The Housemaid's Daughter

The Housemaid's Daughter by Barbara Mutch
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

A South African THE HELP, Barbara Mutch's THE HOUSEMAID'S DAUGHTER is a startling and thought-provoking debut novel which intricately portrays the drama, dynamics and heartbreak of two women against the backdrop of a beautiful yet divided land. For readers of Gillian Slovo or Doris Lessing.

Cathleen Harrington leaves her home in Ireland in 1919 to travel to South Africa and marry the fiance she has not seen for five years. Isolated and estranged in a harsh landscape, she finds solace in her diary and the friendship of her housemaid's daughter, Ada. Cathleen recognises in her someone she can love and respond to in a way that she cannot with her own husband and daughter. Under Cathleen's tutelage, Ada grows into an accomplished pianist, and a reader who cannot resist turning the pages of the diary, discovering the secrets Cathleen sought to hide.

Headline; August 2012
ISBN 9780755392117
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: The Housemaid's Daughter
Author: Barbara Mutch
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755392117

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...