The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Our Street

A heart-warming saga of love, loss and friendship

Our Street by Victor Pemberton
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

One World War. One unlikely friendship. One bitter rivalry.

The power of friendship, love and jealousy is vividly portrayed in Victor Pemberton's moving wartime saga Our Street. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Harry Bowling.

1944, North London. Fifteen-year-old Frankie Lewis feels as if the war will go on forever. But one night in the blackout, his life takes an extraordinary turn. Whilst playing a vindictive prank on the German-Jewish widow who lives nearby, Frankie finds himself hauled across her doorstep into a world of books and culture.

Fascinated by Elsa's stories of life before the war and her late husband - a British officer - young Frankie becomes good friends with Elsa, helping her out in her shop and confiding his troubles to her - from his crush to his sister's unwanted pregnancy. So, when Elsa suddenly dies of a heart attack, Frankie is devastated. He is almost as shocked to discover that Elsa has left her shop to him - a legacy that her brother-in-law is determined to deny him...

What readers are saying about Our Street:

'Another very good story from Victor Pemberton, his books are so true to life'

'Keeps you wanting to read more and more'

'Well written and it takes you back to the time he's writing about, interesting characters and a good story too - a very enjoyable read'

Headline; May 2012
ISBN 9780755392483
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Our Street
Author: Victor Pemberton
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755392483

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...