The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Man of the House

A touching wartime saga of life when the men come home (Eileen Gilmoss series, Book 2)

Man of the House by Joan Jonker
Buy this eBook
US$ 3.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

The war may be over, but for one young wife, her battles are only just beginning...

Man of the House is a heart-breaking but ultimately uplifting saga of life after the war, in the second instalment of Joan Jonker's Eileen Gillmoss series. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn.

On VE day, everyone was rejoicing and it seemed the whole population of Liverpool had turned out to celebrate. Eileen Gillmoss, a colourful character with a smile forever lighting up her face, was the life and soul of the party. Today was the day she'd prayed for and dreamed about. After five long, lonely years, her prisoner-of-war husband Bill would be coming home, back to the open, loving arms of his wife and children. But the man who comes back from the war is a complete stranger to her. It isn't only that Bill's appearance has changed. It's his remoteness, his flinching from her touch that Eileen can't cope with. Now, Eileen, who is always there to lend a shoulder to cry on, is the one in need. But who can she turn to? No one can give her what she craves most... her old husband back. She wants him back where he belongs, as the man of the house.

What readers are saying about Man of the House:

'This book has everything you need for a good read. I couldn't put it down. With every page you turn you don't know whether you'll be laughing or crying by the end of the page. With the good description of the characters in the book you feel like you have known them all your life'

'Excellent... Joan Jonker never lets you down'

Headline; May 2012
ISBN 9780755391943
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Man of the House
Author: Joan Jonker
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755391943