The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Leo's Girl

Forbidden love and divided loyalties in wartime London

Leo's Girl by Victor Pemberton
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

For Peggy, the war opens more than one door...

Victor Pemberton writes a compelling saga in Leo's Girl, a story of class divisions, romance and the Second World War. Perfect for fans of Dee Williams and Dilly Court.

'Lights down, tucked up snug you can almost hear air raid sirens as Pemberton spins another superb story of London folk during wartime' - Peterborough Evening Telegraph

Twenty-six-year old Peggy Thornton is a middle-class girl living in the heart of working-class Islington. Although she loves her parents, Peggy has always felt her home life to be narrow and claustrophobic so, when women are urged to help on the home front after the outbreak of the Second World War, she starts training as a conductor on a London Transport bus.

Her parents are both appalled; it's hardly a fitting position for the daughter of a local magistrate. It is not just Peggy's parents who make her life difficult. Many of the bus crew haven't adjusted to women from their own class working let alone the likes of Peggy. And her relationship with Leo, who is most definitely from the wrong part of town, serves to create further tensions. It is only when the real enemy strikes, and a bomb explodes in the path of a bus, that these petty differences are cast aside, but, for some, it's too late to say sorry.

What readers are saying about Victor Pemberton:

'Always a good and enjoyable read'

'An excellent read, [Victor Pemberton's] stories are always very authentic'

'Five stars'

Headline; May 2012
ISBN 9780755392513
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Leo's Girl
Author: Victor Pemberton
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755392513

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...