The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Hannah of Hope Street

A gripping saga of youthful hope and family ties

Hannah of Hope Street by Dee Williams
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

A young girl dreams of a better tomorrow...

Dee Williams' Hannah of Hope Street is a poignant saga of a young girl's fight to look after her little sister, once they are left to fend for themselves in the poverty-stricken streets of East London. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Lindsey Hutchinson.

Hannah Miller is a young girl who has had to grow up fast. Since the death of her parents she has taken responsibility for her sister Alice, determined to provide her with the love and stability they've both been denied. But when a violent incident with their bullying guardian finds the girls cold and hungry on the teeming streets of East London, Hannah realises she is out of her depth. She has little option but to accept the help of the strange old woman, Maudie, whose ramshackle home at the end of Rotherhithe's bustling Hope Street, Hannah soon realises, is a den of young thieves.

Alice loves their new life, the companionship of the lively household and the gruff affection of the enigmatic, warm-hearted Maudie. But despite the fact that she is growing increasingly fond of Jack, one of the most long-standing of Maudie's brood, Hannah can never be happy living outside the law. As she battles for respectability, Hannah begins to see she is creating an ever-widening rift between herself and those she loves most dearly - one of whom, as the Great War approaches, might be taken from her for good...

What readers are saying about Hannah of Hope Street:

'Lovely story - five stars'

'Dee Williams never lets me down'

Headline; April 2012
ISBN 9780755382002
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Hannah of Hope Street
Author: Dee Williams
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755382002

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...