The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Annie of Albert Mews

A gripping saga of friendship, love and war

Annie of Albert Mews by Dee Williams
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

A friendship is tested amidst the storm clouds of war...

Annie of Albert Mews is a warm and spirited saga of two East End friends, and their struggle to find happiness in the midst of the Second World War, from much-loved author Dee Wiliams. Perfect for fans of Pam Evans and Nadine Dorries.

'A vividly realised story' - British Book News

Even if she feels life is passing her by as she serves behind the counter in her father's Rotherhithe grocer's shop, Annie Rogers knows she is lucky to have a secure home and a loving family - unlike her friend Lil, whose father is a violent drunk. Knowing how hard Lil's life is, Annie willingly helps her out, lending her dresses and make-up and, when Annie is asked out on a smart date by the landlord's son Peter Barrett, suggesting Lil come along to make up a foursome.

But it is a shock when Lil gets on famously with Peter's swanky friend Julian whilst Annie feels much less sure of the smooth Peter. Soon Lil is busy earning money from pub singing spots set up for her by Julian, and Annie, no longer needed by her friend, feels more isolated than ever. It is then that she notices shy Will Hobbs from Fisher's engineering works. Before long Annie and Will are engaged, with plans for a home of their own in Surrey. But a dreadful accident at Fisher's and the looming shadow of World War II mean that life for Annie of Albert Mews is not so predictable - or secure - as she once thought it was...

What readers are saying about Annie of Albert Mews:

'Another brilliant Dee Williams book - once again I found it hard to put down. The story twists throughout keeping you hooked and eager to find out what happens next. A really good book to curl up with and lose yourself in'

'As always the reader empathises with the main characters right from the start, but there are many layers to this story and it spans the traumatic period of the Second World War. There are many twists and turns throughout to keep the reader in suspense'

Headline; April 2012
ISBN 9780755382019
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Annie of Albert Mews
Author: Dee Williams
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755382019

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...