The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,353,660 members ⚫ 1,442,818 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

To Be A Lady

A compelling 1950s saga of love and ambition

To Be A Lady by June Tate
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

All that glitters is not gold...

In To Be A Lady, June Tate writes an unforgettable saga of a young woman's ambition, and her discovery that sometimes the grass isn't always greener on the other side. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Lyn Andrews.

Southampton, 1954. Bryony Travis is the daughter of Dan Travis, a second-hand car dealer who also deals in stolen goods. An avid reader of Tatler magazine, Bryony longs to escape her father's shady associates and meet sophisticated people with good manners.

When a wealthy barrister buys a car from her father, she is introduced to his handsome son, James Hargreaves. Through James, Bryony steps up into the high society circles which she has always yearned to be part of and has a fine time, going to Ascot, dining at the Savoy. However, she soon gets a shock when she discovers that the aristocracy and her father's gangland friends aren't as different as she'd imagined...

What readers are saying about To Be A Lady:

'The story grips from the start. June Tate has conjured up a cast of interesting and empathetic characters, especially with her heroine, Bryony, wonderfully independent and able to cope in a man's world - in this case a sometimes colourful, sometimes underground, but always fascinating world'

'This author is a born storyteller who simply goes from strength to strength. I enjoyed it immensely'

'Five stars'

Headline; April 2012
ISBN 9780755389469
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: To Be A Lady
Author: June Tate
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755389469

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...