The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

For the Love of a Soldier

An unforgettable saga of an impossible love

For the Love of a Soldier by June Tate
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

Can their love survive the battles they'll have to face?

For the Love of a Soldier is a gritty and compelling saga of love, war and prejudice in 1940s Southampton docklands, from much-loved author June Tate. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Josephine Cox.

'What a tangled and wonderful wartime web is weaved here' - Northern Echo

Maggie Evans is living with her parents at their docklands pub in Southampton when the GIs arrive to support the British troops in 1943. She's never met anyone like American Steve Rossi, and it's hard to resist his good looks and easy confidence. But there's another side to Steve, and when he pulls a knife during a fight, Maggie begins to wonder what other secrets he's concealing.

Joshua Lewis is everything Steve's not: kind, considerate and honest. And he's black. When he and Maggie become friends, Steve's true colours are revealed; he's a bigot as well as a dangerous criminal. Maggie realises only just in time that it's Joshua, not Steve, she loves. But can she and Joshua make a go of it in a world set against them?

What readers are saying about For the Love of a Soldier:

'This book was a joy from start to finish'

'Excellent love story with the back drop of WWII'

'Super book - five stars'

Headline; April 2012
ISBN 9780755389414
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: For the Love of a Soldier
Author: June Tate
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755389414

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...