The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,363,412 members ⚫ 1,467,645 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

The Pride of Polly Perkins

A touching family saga of love, tragedy and hope

The Pride of Polly Perkins by Joan Jonker
Buy this eBook
US$ 2.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

When tragedy strikes a family, their lives are never the same again...

The Pride of Polly Perkins is a captivating saga of a warm Liverpudlian family hit by illness, and a nostalgic look back at the communities of yesteryear, from much-loved author Joan Jonker. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Katie Flynn.

At the age of fourteen, happy-go-lucky Polly Perkins faces untold sadness when her beloved father is diagnosed with tuberculosis. As Tommy's stay in hospital turns from weeks into months, Polly's mother, Ada, becomes increasingly anxious as to how she will make ends meet. In an attempt to help out, Polly takes a job as a flowerseller, and when she sells a buttonhole to Charles Denholme, a member of the Liverpool gentry, she sets in motion a chain of events that changes her life forever...

What readers are saying about The Pride of Polly Perkins:

'Joan Jonker is the best writer of good, old-fashioned story telling'

'This has to be one of the best books I have ever read. It brings out a mixture of emotions all in one book: tears, joy and above all laughter. I could not put it down. I would recommend it to anyone'

Headline; March 2012
ISBN 9780755390250
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: The Pride of Polly Perkins
Author: Joan Jonker
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755390250