The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

And One for Luck

A compelling saga of finding happiness in the direst of circumstances

And One for Luck by Lynda Page
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

When the Second World War threatens all, a remarkable woman finds happiness where she least expects it.

And One For Luck is an inspiring saga from much-loved author Lynda Page, of a woman discovering happiness through the eye-opening events of World War Two. Perfect for fans of Kate Thompson and Pam Evans.

Grace Wilkins and Bessie Rudney have been neighbours for over twenty years, but it takes the outbreak of World War Two for them to become friends. The more time Grace spends with Bessie, her six boisterous children and her loving husband Tom, the more she realises what has been missing from her own loveless marriage. As the war takes its toll on Leicester, and one by one the men folk leave to join the fighting, Grace finds comfort in helping others. Each day, as she takes on another new challenge, Grace realises that her daughter might have been right all along - it's time to break out, really make something of her life, and possibly find true love, before it's too late...

What readers are saying about And One For Luck:

'Right from the start this book had me gripped. The author's portrayal of struggle, hope and devastation suffered by a tight knit war torn neighbourhood had me in floods of tears, of sadness and joy. The sheer brilliance of Lynda Page's talent has had me scouring the shelves for more of her work. Never have I read anything so captivating and well written - I actually felt that I was there'

'A warm, comforting book. Lots of humour with good old values. Couldn't put it down. Delightfully British. Loved it'

Headline; March 2012
ISBN 9780755382088
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: And One for Luck
Author: Lynda Page
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755382088

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...