The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,363,412 members ⚫ 1,467,645 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Sadie was a Lady

An engrossing saga of family trouble and true love

Sadie was a Lady by Joan Jonker
Buy this eBook
US$ 2.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

A young girl escapes her cruel family home, but discovers that sometimes you can't leave the past entirely behind...

Sadie Was a Lady is a touching, funny, heart-warming saga from one of Liverpool's favourite writers, Joan Jonker. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Nadine Dorries.

'As usual our Joan has come up with an easy-read story, full of laughter and smiles' - Liverpool Echo

Beautiful, blonde-haired Sadie Wilson suffers abuse from her slovenly mother and lecherous father in order to protect her younger siblings from a similar fate. The neighbours avoid her parents like the plague and Sadie has no friends to turn to for help. But when Harry, the kind-hearted boy next door, sees Sadie crying because her father has lost all their money, he offers to pay her sixpence for a kiss. With coins in her pocket, Sadie goes to Paddy's market to buy underclothes she so desperately needs and it is there that she meets Mary Ann and a lively bunch of Liverpudlian stallholders who are to be her salvation. Even though she is rescued by Mary Ann's friends and starts a new life, Sadie's thoughts still return to her brothers and sisters back at home. And no matter how many admirers she has, there's a place in her heart for just one lad whose kisses she can't seem to forget...

What readers are saying about Sadie Was a Lady:

'Could not put this book down. It was heart-warming and charming. Enjoyed all the characters and kept me entertained throughout the book'

'This was the first of Joan Jonker's books I read, and I could not put it down. The atmosphere of Liverpool of yesteryear simply came alive, with hard working people who though poor in life, were rich at heart and gave all they had... my heart has never left this story, and I simply cannot forget the characters'

Headline; February 2012
ISBN 9780755390267
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Sadie was a Lady
Author: Joan Jonker
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755390267