The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,353,660 members ⚫ 1,442,818 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

The Glory and the Shame

Some events can never be forgotten

The Glory and the Shame by Harry Bowling
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

Secrets from one harrowing night during the war expose both glory... and shame.

The Glory and the Shame, by much-loved author Harry Bowling, is a heart-warming and gripping story of a community in its finest and yet darkest hour, in which most, but not all, behave heroically. Perfect for fans of Pam Evans and Annie Murray.

On the night of Saturday 10th May 1941, amidst the horror of the devastation caused by enemy bombers, Joe Carey and Charlie Duggan risked their lives to save people trapped in an air-raid shelter. Despite their efforts, six men and women died.

It's now 1947 and the inhabitants of Totterdown Street are trying to rebuild their lives. The post-war years are proving to be difficult and, already faced with a violent factory strike, the close-knit inhabitants of the street must also cope with news which not only exposes the glory of the past but the shame as well.

What readers are saying about The Glory and the Shame:

'I found reading this book engrossing, as with all Harry Bowling books. I would recommend it to anyone who likes being taken back in time'

'I couldn't put this book down - five stars'

Headline; November 2011
ISBN 9780755391417
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: The Glory and the Shame
Author: Harry Bowling
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755391417

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...