The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,353,660 members ⚫ 1,442,818 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

The Chinese Lantern

A touching saga of true love in the face of adversity

The Chinese Lantern by Harry Bowling
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

Born on opposite sides of the world, war brings two young people together.

In The Chinese Lantern, Harry Bowling writes a heart-wrenching saga about the strength of love and the brutality of war. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Dilly Court.

In May 1929 two babies are born on the same day on opposite sides of the world. In Tanners Alley in Bermondsey, Ruby Neal gives birth to a son, Paul. On the edge of a paddy field in Eastern China, a young woman dies giving premature birth to a girl. A travelling trader takes pity and takes the tiny child to the Anglican mission to be cared for. He becomes the child's guardian and names her Mei Li Ching.

By the time Paul and Mei Li reach their twenty-first birthdays, they could not have had more different lives. And it is only as a consequence of war that they ever meet. Instantly attracted to each other, they are soon to discover the problems their cultural differences - and family prejudices - will bring.

What readers are saying about The Chinese Lantern:

'I loved this story - five stars'

'As with all the Harry Bowling books, a very good read. You are transported into the era and get to know the characters'

Headline; July 2011
ISBN 9780755381517
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: The Chinese Lantern
Author: Harry Bowling
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755381517

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...