The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Wildfire at Midnight

Wildfire at Midnight by Mary Stewart
Buy this eBook
US$ 2.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

The original queen of the page-turner Mary Stewart leads her readers on an unforgettable ride across the Isle of Skye in this tale perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.

'Mary Stewart is magic' New York Times

'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent

'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best.' Herald

Following a heart-breaking divorce, Gianetta retreats to the Isle of Skye hoping to find tranquillity in the island's savage beauty. But shortly before her arrival a girl's body is found on the craggy slopes of the looming Blue Mountain, and with the murderer still on the loose, there's nothing to stop him from setting his sights on Gianetta next . . .

One arrogant wing of rock thrust itself across the sun, flinging a diagonal shadow over the bay. My eye was drawn to the great lonely bulk of the mountain in the east, stooping over the valley like a hawk. Blaven. The Blue Mountain.

'Stylish, educated novels . . . a natural successor to Jane Austen and Charlotte Bronte' Guardian

'There are few to equal Mary Stewart as an entertainer' Daily Telegraph

Hodder & Stoughton; May 2011
ISBN 9781444711103
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Wildfire at Midnight
Author: Mary Stewart