The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Ironmonger's Daughter

An engrossing saga of family feuds, true love and war

Ironmonger's Daughter by Harry Bowling
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

Two daughters. Two families. One world war.

Ironmonger's Daughter is a moving portrayal of life and love in the gritty poverty of the East End streets, from much-loved author Harry Bowling. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Lizzie Lane.

'Poignant, nostalgic - but not romanticised - stories of good-hearted ordinary people in extraordinary circumstances' - Independent

Ironmonger Street in 1920, with its ugly tenement blocks and tumbledown houses, is one of the most unsightly turnings in Bermondsey; its residents are hardened to the grim poverty of their lives.

In the slum block, Jubilee Dwellings, two sisters - attractive, fun-loving Kate Morgan and the happily married Helen Bartlett - give birth to daughters. One is illegitimate, her mother refusing to name the father, the other is disabled. Connie and Molly grow up together and wouldn't be parted for the world.

Until the day Connie catches the eye of handsome Robert Armitage. Despite the differences in their backgrounds, and the antagonism that dogs their two families, they are drawn together and are determined to be married. Until war intervenes...

What readers are saying about Ironmonger's Daughter:

'Absolutely love this book, would recommend to others. Typical of family life in London, this took me on a journey way back in time. Couldn't put it down'

'Very good book, could not put it down'

Headline; March 2011
ISBN 9780755381470
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Ironmonger's Daughter
Author: Harry Bowling
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755381470

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...