The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,363,412 members ⚫ 1,467,645 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Nobody's Darling

A captivating saga of family, friendship and love

Nobody's Darling by Josephine Cox
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

A young woman finds worldly success, but yearns for the gift of love...

In Nobody's Darling, Josephine Cox writes an unforgettable saga of family ties, friendship and having to make the difficult choice between love and duty. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Nadine Dorries.

Lizzie Miller worries about her beautiful eldest daughter. A mother shouldn't have favourites, but Ruby wins a special place in Lizzie's heart. Money is short in their little house in Blackburn, and Ruby yearns to give her beloved family a better life. Determined to enjoy the security only wealth can bring, she stifles her feelings for handsome Johnny Ackroyd. Ruby knows he cannot offer her the life she craves.

Ruby works as a maid for Mr Banks and his daughter, Cicely, a shy, gentle creature with few friends. The two girls hatch a mischievous plan to introduce Ruby to society at a party for the 'gentry' of Blackburn, where Ruby meets Luke Arnold, the dissolute heir to his father's fortunes. Seeing Ruby's dark beauty, he determines to despoil her innocence. When Luke slyly turns his charm on Cicely, Ruby feels compelled to warn her friend of his evil nature.

Ruby quickly finds employment in a milliner's shop, and eventually takes over the business. But her worldly success still leaves an emptiness that riches cannot fill, and Ruby learns at last that the love of family and friends is beyond price...

What readers are saying about Nobody's Darling:

'Fantastic read, full of wonderful characters and twists and turns. Really made you feel that you were living in that era'

'How vividly Josephine Cox writes... totally believable'

'Five stars'

Headline; December 2010
ISBN 9780755384525
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Nobody's Darling
Author: Josephine Cox
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755384525

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...