The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,363,412 members ⚫ 1,467,645 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Belshazzar's Daughter (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 1)

A compelling crime thriller not to be missed

Belshazzar's Daughter (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 1) by Barbara Nadel
Buy this eBook
US$ 0.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

A secret worth killing for...

Barbara Nadel introduces Inspector Cetin Ikmen for the first time in her debut novel, Belshazzar's Daughter. Perfect for fans of Jason Goodwin and Donna Leon.

'Exciting, accomplished and original' - Literary Review

Leonid Meyer is found murdered in his flat in Balat, Istanbul's decrepit Jewish quarter, a swastika daubed on the wall in the old man's blood. But Inspector Cetin Ikmen is quick to eschew the obvious conclusion that this is a racist attack. The evidence leads Ikmen and his young lieutenant, Suleyman, to two people: Robert Cornelius, a teacher observed outside Meyer's flat shortly after the murder, and a retired businessman, Reinhold Smits, known to have had Nazi sympathies. But another link connects these two: a ninety-year-old Russian émigré, Maria Gulcu, a widow who thinks she possesses a secret worth killing for...

What readers are saying about Belshazzar's Daughter:

'An engaging, fascinating picture of life in Turkey. Wonderful characters and a deep plot that constantly draws one to read on'

'An excellent murder mystery set in the twilight world of old aristocracies in modern day Istanbul'

'An intense psychological drama with an impressive array of characters and colourful descriptions of the less salubrious areas of Istanbul. Nadel successfully evokes the hot sultry atmosphere of modern Turkey'

Headline; December 2010
ISBN 9780755382132
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Belshazzar's Daughter (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 1)
Author: Barbara Nadel
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755382132