Down Milldyke Way

A touching saga of heartbreak, grit and emotion

by

Down Milldyke Way: A touching saga of heartbreak, grit and emotion
Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9780755381456

A young mother has some difficult choices to make...

Harry Bowling writes a gripping saga in Down Milldyke Way - a story of love, family and tragedy. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Annie Murray.

When Kate Flanagan sits in the Old Bailey court room and hears the seven year sentence for armed robbery being passed on her husband, she knows that now is the time to get free of him and make a new life for herself and her two children.

Forced to quit her terraced house in Bermondsey for rent arrears, Kate has to take the unpalatable step of moving to a slum tenement block in Milldyke Street, Dockhead. Here she meets the attractive Amy Almond whose friendship opens new doors of opportunity for fresh relationships. When Kate stumbles over the murdered body of a single woman who lived in the next block, she realises that she, herself, could be a target. She turns to the attractive and sympathetic Sergeant Cassidy for protection and finds that her emotions, as well as her life, are in danger...

What readers are saying about Down Milldyke Way:

'This is one of Harry Bowling's finest. It is written with warmth, humour and a great deal of local knowledge. It is frequented by a host of colourful characters that come to life and take the reader on a journey into their world, the hardships and the joys are shared in equal measure. A thoroughly enjoyable read'

'When reading you can picture the area and the people. You can feel the atmosphere of the area and see the people who live there and their families. Very well written'

  • Headline; November 2010
  • ISBN 9780755381456
  • Read online, or download in secure EPUB format
  • Title: Down Milldyke Way
  • Author: Harry Bowling
  • Imprint: Headline
Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9780755381456

About The Author

Harry was born in 1931 in a back street off the Tower Bridge Road. Only when his own children began to ask questions about the war, did Harry realise how many stories he had to tell. He became known as 'the King of Cockney sagas', and he wrote eighteen bestselling novels of London life. After Harry died in 1999, the Harry Bowling Prize was set up in his memory.

Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9780755381456