The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Cuban Heels

A compelling and compulsive psychological thriller

Cuban Heels by Emily Barr
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

Bored with your life? Steal someone else's...

Bestselling author Emily Barr transports readers from Brighton to Cuba in Cuban Heels as Maggie becomes increasingly obsessed with the married couple next door. Perfect for fans of Louise Candlish's thrillers and Shari Lapena's The Couple Next Door.

'A warmly engaging novel of genuine quality' - Publishing News

Maggie moves to Brighton after splitting up with her long-term boyfriend, and, unable to find a job, starts work as a lapdancer. Failing to make any new friends, she writes letters compulsively, and the highlight of her day is the sound of the morning post being delivered.

Maggie gradually becomes obsessed with the married couple, Libby and David, living next door. Libby has given up work after having a baby, and is finding life as a full-time mother very difficult. Just as she persuades David that she should return to work, he is asked to take a sabbatical from his management-consultant job. He's always longed to travel, and convinces Libby that they should spend six months in Cuba, learning Spanish.

Maggie, deciding she too wants to travel, follows them to Havana, where the horrors of her past - in particular her young sister's violent death - begin to haunt her. And as Maggie starts to break down, she tries to take over Libby's life...

What readers are saying about Cuban Heels:

'I couldn't put this down'

'Emily Barr writes beautifully and I could really feel Maggie's emotions throughout the book. A truly enthralling read'

'Spot-on eye for the contradictions and compromises in the lives of twenty-first century westerners, excellent but unobtrusive travel writing and compelling plot'

Headline; November 2010
ISBN 9780755381609
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Cuban Heels
Author: Emily Barr
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755381609

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...