The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,363,412 members ⚫ 1,467,645 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Tommy's World (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 1)

A warm and charming tale of life in northern England

Tommy's World (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 1) by Billy Hopkins
Not for sale in
your country
Not Available

A Manchester lad's life in the early twentieth century - the slums, Smithfield market and the search for love...

Billy Hopkins bases his engaging novel, Tommy's World, on the fascinating and inspiring life of his father Tommy, born in a Manchester slum in 1886. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Hutchinson and Maureen Lee.

'The characters will stay with you after you've finished the book, but what you won't be left with is the sickly sweet taste of nostalgia. If you like to learn something from a good story then this could well be the book for you' - The Bookbag

Tommy Hopkins' early years aren't very promising. Born at the end of the nineteenth century in a slum district of Manchester, he's blessed with a loving, hard-working mam and dad, but they don't have two ha'pennies to rub together. The family is struck by tragedy not once but twice - but Tommy is a survivor. He quickly makes friends at school, and together they plot money-making schemes, settle scores and play lots of football. Then, at last, it's time to leave the playground behind. Denied the chance of a promising career as an engineer, Tommy finds employment at Manchester's Smithfield market and works his way up, finally becoming a porter. He's turning into a man, and amongst the young women who catch his eye is Kate Lally, who may just be the love of his life...

What readers are saying about Tommy's World:

'Well written and the characters are just so great... you enter a different world when you read a Billy Hopkins book'

'Brilliant author, his books are really ones that you can't put down!'

'Tommy's World was superb. Fascinating detail about life as it was. Unputdownable'

Headline; August 2010
ISBN 9780755359608
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Tommy's World (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 1)
Author: Billy Hopkins
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755359608

This edition is not for sale in your country. Here are some titles that might be what you're after...