The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,353,660 members ⚫ 1,442,818 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

The House of Dust and Dreams

A house in ruins. An island at war. A love affair just beginning...

The House of Dust and Dreams by Brenda Reid
Buy this eBook
US$ 5.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

A house in ruins. An island at war. A love affair just beginning...

'This is one of the most fantastic books I have ever read' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars



The House of Dust and Dreams is perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop's Cartes Postales from Greece and The Island, or Tracy Rees's, The Hourglass

***********************************

Greece 1936.

A young British diplomat and his wife have been posted to Athens. Hugh loves the life there but his spirited and unconventional wife, Evadne, finds it hard to fit in with the whirl of endless parties and socialising.

When Hugh is sent to Crete to sort out a problem, they stay in a rundown house owned by his family. His wife falls in love with the place and the people, and stays on when Hugh returns to his duties. As she tries to rebuild the ramshackle home, Evadne - known as Heavenly by the locals - makes firm friends with Anthi, a young woman from the village and Christo, the handsome and charismatic young builder.

But the dark clouds of war are gathering and the island will become a crucible of violence and bloodshed in the days to come. For Heavenly, her friends and family, it will be the greatest test they have ever known.

***********************************

Readers love The House of Dust and Dreams

'Absolutely loved this book. Full of the smells, sights and sounds of the real Greece...anyone with a tender heart and love of Greece will adore it' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'The House of Dust and Dreams - took my breath away' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

Orion Publishing Group; July 2010
ISBN 9781409114727
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: The House of Dust and Dreams
Author: Brenda Reid
 
ISBNs
9781409114727