The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,363,412 members ⚫ 1,467,645 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

The Leaving of Liverpool

Two sisters face battles in life and love

The Leaving of Liverpool by Lyn Andrews
Buy this eBook
US$ 3.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

At the close of the First World War, two sisters' battles are only just beginning...

The Leaving of Liverpool is a poignant saga about the friendship between sisters, dangerous men and true love in post-World War I Liverpool, from bestselling author Lyn Andrews. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Sheila Newberry and Josephine Cox.

It is 1919 and Liverpool has been devastated by World War I. Sons, husbands and fathers have been lost and street after street plunged into mourning. Now, at last, the war is finally over. Emily Parkinson goes back into service and enjoys the return to normality. But Emily's younger sister, Phoebe-Anne, has ideas beyond her station. Working as a lady's maid, Phoebe-Ann hopes that one day she will be more than just a confidante to her mistress's shell-shocked brother James Mercer.

When Emily is brutally attacked, the sisters' lives come close to ruin. Phoebe-Ann is forced to leave the Mercer household and falls into the arms of Jake Malone, of the notorious Malone clan. But as Emily slowly recovers it seems that Phoebe-Anne might just be able to escape the mistakes of her past after all - even if it does mean leaving Liverpool...

What readers are saying about The Leaving of Liverpool:

'Really enjoyed every moment of this book. It's a page turner right from the start'

'Excellent read - five stars'

Headline; March 2010
ISBN 9780755376438
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: The Leaving of Liverpool
Author: Lyn Andrews
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755376438