The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

The House on Lonely Street

A completely gripping saga of friendship, tragedy and escape

The House on Lonely Street by Lyn Andrews
Buy this eBook
US$ 3.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

Her father's murder drives a young woman to seek refuge in Liverpool - but she could now be in even greater danger...

Lyn Andrews' The House on Lonely Street is a powerful and nostalgic saga set in Dublin and Liverpool, of the power of love, friendship... and fear. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Kitty Neale.

For Katherine Donovan the slums of Dublin are a lonely place. Her father, a pawnbroker, is the most hated man in the district, and Katherine an outcast. Her only friend is tiny Ceppi Healy, underfed, irrepressible and, the youngest in a neglected family of eight, as much an emotional orphan as eighteen-year-old Katherine.
Then, one night, the unthinkable happens. Katherine's father is murdered, a victim of local revenge for an act of cruelty even she couldn't have anticipated. Fearing for her life, Katherine flees, taking with her the desperate young Ceppi.

Liverpool is her longed-for haven and, with the last of her father's money, she rents a lodging house in a street decimated by the sinking of the Titanic. But, far from finding a refuge for herself and the little girl she promised to protect, she realises she has put them into the path of terrible danger...

What readers are saying about The House on Lonely Street:

'I read [this book] in less than a day... The characters were so believable and you could imagine the struggle, but from the start you wanted Katherine to succeed'

'As usual Lyn Andrews tells a really good story. She makes you care about the characters, and the only criticism I have is that I was left wanting more'

'The brilliant plot will sweep you away to its majestic and tear-jerking ending'

Headline; March 2010
ISBN 9780755376421
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: The House on Lonely Street
Author: Lyn Andrews
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755376421