The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,272,009 members ⚫ 1,419,367 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

The Urchin's Song

Has she found the key to happiness?

The Urchin's Song by Rita Bradshaw
Buy this eBook
US$ 2.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

Can one young woman's beautiful voice save her from a life of destitution?

Rita Bradshaw writes a captivating saga in The Urchin's Song, a gritty tale of family, escapism and an incredible talent. Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale and Josephine Cox.

'Rita Bradshaw fully deserves her new Cookson rating... Josie's tale will echo in your heart long after you have turned the last page' - Northern Echo

The approach of the twentieth century means little to Josie Burns and her family; living in Sunderland's slum area, they battle dirt, cold and hunger on a daily basis. Josie's brothers and sisters are terrified of their violent alcoholic father, but Josie is not like the rest, for she has something that will enable her to rise out of the slums: a beautiful singing voice, with which even as a child she earns enough pennies to keep her father happy.

When she discovers that her father is trying to put her younger sister, Gertie, on the game, Josie and Gertie flee the family home, taking refuge with a friend. By educating herself and taking singing lessons, Josie starts on the journey to success and security - but can she also find love?

What readers are saying about The Urchin's Song:

'Once you start reading this novel you won't be able to put it down, all the characters come to life'

'One of the best books I have read in a while... I was gripped from the start until the very last page'

'Enjoyable story with lots of twists and turns'

Headline; March 2010
ISBN 9780755375875
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: The Urchin's Song
Author: Rita Bradshaw
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755375875