Liverpool Lou

A moving saga of family, love and chasing dreams

by

Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9780755376353

Will she find the happiness she deserves?

Lyn Andrews' Liverpool Lou is an engrossing Merseyside saga spanning two world wars, following a young woman as she sets out to make her own way in the world, despite her aunt's determination to control her. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Annie Murray and Maureen Lee.

Babsey has always worked hard to provide for her family; she runs a greengrocers publicly and a money-lending business in private. Babsey makes sure that her family doesn't mix with the rougher people in the neighbourhood - she considers herself a cut above the local community. When her niece Louisa needs a home - her mother is dead, and her father at sea - Babsey does her duty and brings the girl into the household.

But Louisa doesn't quite fit in with Babsey's plans. Although life under Aunt Babsey's roof is comfortable, Louisa is acutely aware of the desperate poverty around her. And, as she grows up into a thoughtful young woman, the harsh realities of love and betrayal, war and death, make her determined to find her own way.
Louisa will eventually be made famous throughout her city - known for ever as Liverpool Lou. And she might just find love along the way...

What readers are saying about Liverpool Lou:

'Brilliant story... Could not put it down. Had me in tears'

'Just what you would expect from Lyn Andrews. Full of lifelike characters and good background knowledge. Really enjoyed it'

'One of the best books I've read'

  • Headline; March 2010
  • ISBN 9780755376353
  • Read online, or download in secure EPUB format
  • Title: Liverpool Lou
  • Author: Lyn Andrews
  • Imprint: Headline
Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9780755376353

About The Author

Lyn Andrews was born in Liverpool in 1944; her father Joseph was killed on D-Day just nine months later. Lyn was brought up in Liverpool and became a secretary before she married and gave birth to triplets. Once the children had gone to school Lyn began writing, and her first novel was quickly accepted for publication. She has since written over thirty books, many of them Sunday Times bestsellers.

Lyn lives on the Isle of Man, but spends many weeks of the year back on Merseyside, seeing her children and grandchildren.

www.lynandrewsbooks.co.uk
www.facebook.com/LynAndrewsBooks
Twitter: @LynSagaAuthor

Subject categories
ISBNs
  • 9780755376353