The Leading eBooks Store Online 4,267,188 members ⚫ 1,417,821 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Liverpool Lou

A moving saga of family, love and chasing dreams

Liverpool Lou by Lyn Andrews
Buy this eBook
US$ 3.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

Will she find the happiness she deserves?

Lyn Andrews' Liverpool Lou is an engrossing Merseyside saga spanning two world wars, following a young woman as she sets out to make her own way in the world, despite her aunt's determination to control her. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Annie Murray and Maureen Lee.

Babsey has always worked hard to provide for her family; she runs a greengrocers publicly and a money-lending business in private. Babsey makes sure that her family doesn't mix with the rougher people in the neighbourhood - she considers herself a cut above the local community. When her niece Louisa needs a home - her mother is dead, and her father at sea - Babsey does her duty and brings the girl into the household.

But Louisa doesn't quite fit in with Babsey's plans. Although life under Aunt Babsey's roof is comfortable, Louisa is acutely aware of the desperate poverty around her. And, as she grows up into a thoughtful young woman, the harsh realities of love and betrayal, war and death, make her determined to find her own way.
Louisa will eventually be made famous throughout her city - known for ever as Liverpool Lou. And she might just find love along the way...

What readers are saying about Liverpool Lou:

'Brilliant story... Could not put it down. Had me in tears'

'Just what you would expect from Lyn Andrews. Full of lifelike characters and good background knowledge. Really enjoyed it'

'One of the best books I've read'

Headline; March 2010
ISBN 9780755376353
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Liverpool Lou
Author: Lyn Andrews
 
Subject categories
ISBNs
9780755376353